Barried Gharizah, UX Researcher

Barried Gharizah
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2021

joined in 2021, from 🇮🇩

What led you into research?

As someone who studied Anthropology, I’ve always wanted to be a cultural researcher who jumps from site to site, observing tradition and find treasure, Indiana Jones style. However, I didn’t think I could survive. Then I found a world of market research where I can apply my knowledge to help clients making business decisions and got exposed to many different industries. After few years in market research, I wanted to join FMCG because their products are essentials and part of everyone’s life. Until I realized that technology is closer to everyone, thus I ended up being a UX Researcher.

Learning about culture, people's behaviour, and discovering the unknowns really brings excitement to me. I believe understanding the “human” is fundamental to be able to provide solutions.

What does a typical day look like?

AM:

  • wake up around 7.30
  • drink water is important
  • check messages and calendar
  • work/research stuff

PM:

  • usually I put catch-ups and sync-up meetings towards the end of the day
  • play some Lo-Fi music to lift up the mood
  • free time (watch youtube videos, listen to music, play guitar, exercise)
  • wondering about random stuff like why there are no snakes in New Zealand, how rivers are formed, who invented sushi, etc.

Name three non-researcher you feel inspired by when conducting interviews and synthesising.

Crazy musicians like Björk, Thom Yorke, Sigur Rós, Hikaru Utada
→ Inspired me how things can go wild but still make sense and formed harmony. Sometimes they also throw some of the best inspiring quotes.

Non-researcher collaborators. Like PMs, designers, business, and ops folks.
→ Research is like a canvas, views, and angles from these folks provide me the inks.

Everyday strangers
→
sometimes I observe them and wonder how their life is like. What are they doing? Where will they go? What will they eat for dinner? Things like that, really pinching out the curiosity of me and trigger my creativity.

What would your self-portrait look like?

In nature, slightly smiling, surrounded by colorful items but I would like the photo to be in monochrome. 🌠🖤

--

--