Bonnie Wong, Product Manager

Bonnie Wong
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2022

Joined in Feb 2022, from ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

What led you to become a product manager?

I started my career at an Airline where I worked in a number of different CRM/Digital Marketing roles. After being at the company for several years, I wanted to come out of my comfort zone and was looking for something more fast-paced. I then joined Lalamove initially for a product marketing role but was lucky to have many opportunities to work closely with our Product teams.

While I loved the creative aspect of Marketing, there always comes a difficulty of being bounded by limitations of what we could promote based on existing Product offerings. So over time, I gravitated toward transitioning to a role that would allow me to build impactful things and realize vision into reality.

Given the synergies and symbiotic relationship between these two teams, when the PM opportunity presented itself, I jumped at the opportunity without hesitation!

The Product Manager role requires you to be a jack of all trades. The multidisciplinary skills ranging from analytical, creative design, technical, and interpersonal skills allow one to solve everyday problems. This is why this position is so rewarding in many ways and why so many people (including myself) choose to transition into Product :)

What does a typical day look like for you?

  1. Jam to Kpop on my commute to work ๐ŸŽถ
  2. Discussions with tech teams on ongoing features ๐Ÿ’ฌ
  3. Lunch ๐Ÿฑ
  4. Meet with stakeholders to align on requirements ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ’ป
  5. Solve ongoing problems, write PRDs, and review data โœ๐Ÿป
  6. Go home and make dinner ๐Ÿฝ๏ธ
  7. End the day with a cuppa hot tea ๐Ÿซ– and scrolling through social media ๐Ÿ“ฑ

Name three people or things you feel inspired when creating a product

New Experiences

When I visit a new place or experience something for the first time, the process of experiencing something unfamiliar allows me to think about what the thoughts, emotions, and motives of human behaviour are. What are the aspects of an experience that spark joy and can be applied to a product that Iโ€™m building?

Bad Experiences

Unpleasant experiences always serve as a reminder of what I can do to prevent the same experience from happening on a feature Iโ€™m working on.

Friends & Family

My friends and family are the biggest critics! They always provide valuable opinions and a different perspective on how they would approach a problem

What would your self-portrait look like?

๐Ÿ• ๐ŸŒฎ ๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿป ๐Ÿช ๐Ÿซ
(Always surrounded by food and trying to feed everyone around me)

Anything you want to promote or plug?

Blockchain/Crypto ๐Ÿš€ Everyone should own a little bit of crypto or something in Web 3.0 to understand how Blockchain works because I strongly believe itโ€™ll be the technology of the future.

My favourite go-to resource for Crypto happenings is https://www.theblock.co/

--

--