Jun Cheong, Sr. Design Manager

Jun Cheong
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2021

joined in 2016 & 2020, from πŸ‡­πŸ‡°

What led you into design?

I wanted to be involved in the creative industry but never thought I could do design, so I studied visual effects and animation. After working full–time at a post production company for a year, I decided to quit and see what it was like to finish my master degree πŸŽ“. (Wanted to be a teaching associate)

It didn’t go the way I imagined, but I did learn how to learn. Soon after, I found my first real design job at a tech company that creates a better experience for the clinical profession. The experience was amazing β€” I had the opportunity to build on my foundational graphic design skills, dig into other skills like UI design, and learned more about the dynamics of working in a design team of one.

Somewhere along the road, I got really interested in UI and UX design. I read hundreds of hours of content on product design to practice my interactive, visual design and research skills. After understanding the job market for product design, I knew I eventually wanted to try out Start-up environment.

Five years later, I joined Lalamove and began a proper product designer journey.

What does a typical day look like?

On most days, I get into the office before 10AM. In the mornings, I’ll try to plan out the rest of my day and block out my calendar for actual work time. The day is usually not going as planned as there are so many things happening 😱 …

After work, I do read both related and non-related product design books. And of course, watching Netflix, HBO, BBC, iTV, and channel 4 TV drama is my way out of the real world.

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing.

πŸ‘¨πŸ» Dan Ariely

Behavioural science is my new exciting area. His blog and books present a wide range of psychological traps and irrational tendencies to which humans fall prey.

πŸƒ Product thinking questions cards

These cards are like my mum, who keeps reminding me to focus on a product design strategy, digging into the problem to be solved, goals to be met, and metrics that determine success.

πŸ’Œ Sidebar Newsletter

I will get 5 design links about anything design related articles every weekday

What would your self-portrait look like?

🧸 πŸ“Ί πŸ’› πŸ“š πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ πŸ—Ί 🎧 πŸ₯ƒ 🍸 πŸ₯œ 🍰 🐈 πŸ¦‚ 🍡 πŸ‡­πŸ‡°

Anything you want to promote or plug?

Content design is what we always overlook. Maybe it is time for everyone to pay more attention from now on. You can consider reading a book πŸ““ , Content Design by Sarah Richards (I am going to get one).

--

--