Kartikay Sharma — Junior Product Designer

Kartikay
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2021

Joined in Oct 2021, from 🇭🇰

What led you into design?

I’m not entirely sure where my journey in design began, but I’m sure it began when the design wasn’t part of my vocabulary. The earliest memories of doing digital design I have are of learning to use Macromedia Dreamweaver in grade 3. We’d learn to make web pages split into headers on top, menus on the left, and body pages everywhere else. I’d pick super-saturated colors for each of these sections and they’d probably be a sore sight for your eyes. It’s rare to find a webpage that looks like that nowadays. Webpages have evolved over the years along with the rest of the internet and I’m pretty glad to have grown up alongside it.

Graduating from Microsoft paint, I was introduced to Photoshop in secondary school, making weird and wacky images just for fun. Eventually learning about illustrator and using it for some school projects and finally in university where I used design as a tool to solve actual problems, doing internships and hackathons contributing through design.

After a little bit of freelancing and personal projects, I stumbled my way to Lalamove, learning more about digital design than I ever have!

What does a typical day look like?

Most days are different, but a typical day would be:

Wake up → Meditate → Reluctantly go to the gym or do some yoga → Blast some music or read while traveling → Lalamove! → Watch TV or read → Sleep

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing

Robert Sapolsky

  • I love his lectures on human behavioural biology and have recently binge-watched them. They give a unique perspective on why humans behave the way they do.

Kanye West (okay he may be a fashion designer but still)

  • Some may call him crazy, but I’m glad this type of crazy creative exists.

My grandfather, Gopi Vallabh Sharma

  • Having spent some precious time with him, and seeing how he navigates the world despite losing his eyesight.

What would your self-portrait look like?

🌄 ☕️🎶 🌅🥳🎸✍️🖼🧘‍♂️ 😌

What would you like to promote or plug?

Catherine’s Puppies -https://www.instagram.com/catherinespuppies/

  • Give these beautiful pups a home!

Projekt — projekt.xnu.io / ig: @projekt_j_

  • A project I’m part of. Turning broken electronics into art to create a connection with your forgotten devices.

--

--