Maggie Suen, Product Manager

Maggie Suen
Lalamove Product
Published in
3 min readJun 9, 2022

Joined in Sept 2021(Product team), from 🇭🇰

What led you to become a product associate?

I studied Journalism, started off as a reporter as an intern, the first job as a marketing executive, and ended up in Lalamove. People would describe me as joining a “Lalamove MT program”: from the local driver OPS team to Platform OPS and now that I “rotated” to the Product team.

My first impression of “Product” was actually the Product team back in 2019 in Lalamove. Although the projects that we worked on together were not always sexy, their work did catch my eye in this industry.

I like the satisfaction brought when I discovered issues and things got “solved” — like writing news reports. I came up with a lot of ideas on things I wanted to change and I believe the product will be a sustainable way to solve the issues. What’s more? Product is not just about solving problems, and I can’t wait to explore more in the field!

What does a typical day look like?

Working days:

  1. Wake up, huddle my cat (even if it looked pissed off~)
  2. I got to work by bus, listen to music some time podcasts 🚌
  3. Coffee! (Cannot interact normally without caffeine 😫) and restart the laptop..
  4. Work Work Work
  5. Finish off work with a to-do list and remind myself what’s up next

Off work: 🧘🏻‍♀️💃🏻

I have a lot of extra-curricular activities since I was a kid 😂

Things I do: 🧘🏻‍♀️ 💃🏻 🚣🏻 🎮 🧩 🎨 🩰

Name three people or things you feel inspired when creating a product.

Mortdog 👾

I had never liked to play a game until I encountered TFT 👾 I am more impressed by how frequently he plays with the real player on Twitich, sharing his thought, spotting bugs together on stream, and actively responding to feedback. This always reminds me of the following things when I work on the product:

📌 Use your product and Talk to your user

He plays the game everyday on the live channel with players. This is actually very helpful in making your product more user-friendly and at the end achieving the objectives of your product as users’ comments are sometimes very unexpected.

Users’ feedback and comments can be interesting: it reveals things PM may not have thought of when we came up with the design, and sometimes came with new ideas that may make the product better.

📌 Care about what you build

I cannot imagine being a PM of something I never used / hate (at least not that this moment).

What would your self-portrait look like?

🧘🏻‍♀️ 💃🏻🐱🎨

Anything you want to promote or plug?

  1. Yoga 🧘🏻‍♀️precious moment when you can finally be with yourself, and your body. A body that I read about yoga: Your Body Your Yoga
  2. Flamenco💃🏻 is my favourite video: https://youtu.be/GlX00OOwaEI hope one day I can do mine ~

Namaste 🙏🏻

--

--