Marek Sivak, Product Designer

Marek Sivak
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2020

joined in 2018, from 🇸🇰

What led you into design?

I always enjoyed creating things and was interested in tech. I had many ideas. I learned to write code and launched many projects. Some of them went pretty well. I realised that when I know how to write software, I can do almost anything, but this skill has very little with success of the idea.

Later I found myself spending more time trying to understand users and thinking how to help them achieve their goals than actually writing code.

What does a typical day look like?

I get up at 7:30. I have some morning routines such as to make a cup of coffee, take a cold shower (which is actually not difficult in summer if you live in Hong Kong) and finally I spend around 15 mins a day to learn some Cantonese.

I arrive to the office at 10:00. Most of the day I spend solving problems of Lalamove’s business clients.

When I arrive home I spend an hour working on freelance projects. It’s a time for me when I refocus my mind on different types of challenges. I am glad I can help teams on amazing mission and contribute with skills they are lacking. It’s also a source of great learnings which can be transferred to other areas in life.

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing.

This changes super fast. For this week it is:

Jack Butcher
Jack’s tweets on productivity are instant motivation boosts

Tiffany Zhong
Tiffany is a 23-year founder who helps brands interpret wants of Gen Z, the generation born into mobile era. I still haven’t finished listening her podcast which gives explains trends we can already see in design

Ken Kocienda

Ken worked at Apple as software engineer. He worked on iPad’s keyboard or built Safari. In his book he shares insights about culture at Apple, how decisions were made, which principles were followed and describes how it’s like to give a demo to Steve Jobs.

What would your self-portrait look like?

I like to drink Hong Kong style milk tea.

I like running and cooking.

I am a failed Cantonese learner.

Anything you want to promote or plug?

You can check out my Instagram feed. I had set it up to help me improve my photography skills. I set myself a goal of 500 posts in 2020 and still on track!

https://www.instagram.com/mareksiv/

--

--