Melinda Junata — Jr Product Designer

Melinda Junata
Lalamove Product
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2021

Joined in Oct 2021, from 🇮🇩

What led you into design?

It was creating posters for uni student organisations in Canva! I gradually transitioned to using Adobe software, taking on more and more projects like designing social media posts, booklets, and later brand visual identities, while continuing to learn the software. It was like a series of never-ending experiments, and I got to learn by doing, which is the best way to learn anything.

A short while ago, I was so sure that I wanted to be a Brand Designer that I went to summer school to learn everything about Brand Strategy and got my first job as a Brand Designer. I was in charge of all design-related work, including designing and developing websites. As the only designer in the company, I took a lot of time self-learning what it takes to build fast, converting, and responsive websites and UI/UX is a big part of the process. In my view, discovering UI/UX was the tipping point where I discovered a whole new world of design and that it extended what I am passionate about — design, experience and people.

What does a typical day look like?

🐓 Wake up, 🚌 Commute to work and read Kindle / listen to the podcast and Discover Weekly playlist, 🍳 Breakfast (a new habit since joining Lalamove), 🌝 Work with my headphones on, 🥡 Lunch, 🌚 More work, 🧘🏻 (Maybe) Yoga, 🍝 Dinner, 👩🏻‍💻 Work on my side projects / watch Netflix / read Kindle, 🙏🏼 Pray, 😌 Sleep

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing

1. Chef’s Table

Chef’s Table is a Netflix series that shows how renowned chefs explore their culinary influences through different perspectives, such as heritage, sustainability, and techniques. A large part of the series is an exploration of the personal lives of the chefs featuring their journey, intentionality, and emotional aspects of cooking.

2. Research, stories, and histories

Like literally. Understanding the journey, the why, and the story of anything is one of the most valuable things anyone can have. You can discover so many perspectives, insights, and hidden patterns that will inspire you to think or do something about it. (FYI, I enjoy reading research papers.)

3. Greg Williams

My list of favourite photographers is long, but lately, I’ve been loving the pictures taken by Greg in particular. He is a master at candid portraits. When you look at his work, you can see the rawness of each photo as if each image has a story to tell. I’m dying to know his secret.

What would your self-portrait look like?

🐶 🇮🇩 🥐 🧀 🍝 🎺 🗿 🌱 📸 🎞 🌈 🥺

Anything you want to promote or plug?

1. Zero Foodprint Asia

Through regenerative agriculture, ZFPA aims to create a “new normal” by empowering restaurants to make improvements directly in the food system for just a few dollars per diner — helping to counteract climate change while ensuring tasty, nutritious food for all.

2. Design Museum Everywhere

A community and organisation that believes in the power of design (that extends well beyond aesthetics)!

--

--