Sonia Ng, Product Designer

Sonia Ng
Lalamove Product
Published in
3 min readDec 23, 2020

joined in 2018, from 🇭🇰

What led you into design?

I studied Graphic Design in college and thought I would only be a Graphic designer after I graduated. After working as a Graphic Designer for a year, I decided to apply for another job. I was so happy that I got hired immediately. But what I didn’t know was that I needed to handle UX UI design. That’s how I started being a Product Designer.

The company was a tiny start-up, and I was the only designer there. After working there for a year, I found my interest in Product Design and wanted to learn more.

I used to be a graphic person. Ever since I started my UX career, I realized how much I like to interact with people and solve problems they have to make their lives easier. It is also a learning process for me to explore while solving different problems.

What does a typical day look like?

☕️ Coffee → 👩🏻‍💻 Work + 💬 Meetings + 🥤 Bubble tea (the actual drink that makes me awake 🤪) → 📺 Netflix/YouTube + 📕 Reading +🏋🏻‍♂️ Workout

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing.

William Ury
William Ury is a co-founder of the Harvard Program on Negotiation. His TED talk, “The power of listening” is one of the insightful speeches I’ve ever watched. I wasn’t aware of how important listening was until I watched that. It helps me a lot when it comes to working with different stakeholders and interviewing users.

Abstract: The Art of Design
It is a documentary series about Design by Netflix. It introduces designers from different aspects. I found it easy to understand other designers’ thinking processes from the series. It helps me a lot when I want to find some new angles to solve problems.

UX database
I love subscribing to newsletters to keep myself up to date, and UX Database is one of them. Sometimes it’s just hard to catch everything with my busy life. Reading newsletters helps me keep in touch with the UX industry regarding trends and tools, even the learning materials.

If you don’t want to get too many emails, it’s totally fine! UX Database is so thoughtful that it allows you to read all the previous newsletters on the website. This is one of the reasons why I love it so much.

What would your self-portrait look like?

♊️ Gemini

🎵📻 Music & Podcast lover

☕️ Coffeeholic

🍰 Sweet-toothed

😴 Experienced dreamer

🛍️ Shopaholic

Anything you want to promote or plug?

HKFP
HKFP is definitely a trustworthy English-language news website if you want to get the news about Hong Kong. It’s free and totally independent. Check it out if you want to know what’s happening in Hong Kong. Regarding how difficult to sustain journalism in Hong Kong, it would be great if you can support them to safeguard press freedom.

https://hongkongfp.com/

--

--