Tina Lee, Product Designer

Tina Lee
Lalamove Product
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2020

Joined in 2020, from 🇦🇺

What led you into design?

I started my career in marketing after studying business in University. When I was working in my first full-time job in Marketing, I would work with the external design studio who created brand collateral for the company. I was always envious of what they did and knew I’d rather be doing that. I started studying graphic design and later got my first design job for a fashion company. I worked as a hybrid marketer and graphic designer for the next 6 years. I shared an equal love for business and design but at the time, there were no jobs that explicitly encapsulated both fields. It was either: be a really good graphic designer in terms of craft and art or be a really good digital marketer.

I started reading more about design strategy and the increased recognition for designers with business knowledge. I discovered UX Design was more than mobile app and web design. It respects the whole design process where we are taught to understand people and to design with/for people. It’s about research, it’s about good design. It’s about solving problems. It’s about strategy. It’s about asking questions. I think I’ve now found the sweet spot in my design career.

What does a typical day look like?

Tea 🍵 → Gcal 📅 → Figma 🎨 (Design iteration for ongoing project) → Miro 🖍 (Understanding the problem, flows, wireframes for new project) → Catchup with PM 👩🏻‍💻 → Ad hoc design review 👓 if there’s no official design review

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing.

Simon Sinek — Author of the book Start with Why. His mantra has been drilled into my brain and no matter what I’m doing or designing, it serves as a constant reminder.

Studio Ghibli films — The storytelling and detail in Studio Ghibli films remind me that details matter and how important it is to make an emotional connection with the audience. I love the details captured in the character’s behaviour that make it so realistic and relatable. Something as simple as a character taking off their shoes in a hurry and there’s a brief moment of struggle where you almost trip and fall is something I will always appreciate.

Porter Robinson — He’s an American music producer and DJ. The creativity in his music and visual performance never ceases to inspire me. Listening to his music while I design makes me very happy and productive.

What would your self-portrait look like?

Sushi, doraemon, black and white graphics, Fujifilm camera, sneakers, blue skies, nature, big windows, books, milk tea, music festivals, dragonboat racing

Anything you want to promote or plug?

In 2013, I started my own e-commerce business called No More Ugly which taught me everything from starting a brand, to manufacturing, logistics and customer service and everything related to running a business. If you’re looking for a nice looking camera bag, check it out.

--

--

Tina Lee
Lalamove Product

Product Designer at Lalamove. Australian born Chinese based in Hong Kong.