Zaref Khan — Product designer

Zaref Khan
Lalamove Product
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2023

joined in February 2023, from 🇭🇰

What led you into design?

My path to design was quite non-linear. My motivation for getting into university was wanting to make 3D games (I absolutely loved RPG games such as Assassins Creed, The Witcher, Monster Hunter, Final Fantasy, etc.). That’s why I pursued a degree at HK Polytechnic University that allows me to make games.

After university, I worked as a programmer at a shipping company. During my time there, I also got an opportunity to explore design as part of the DesignOps team. I found being naturally drawn towards making sure the flow and experience of using the interface were intuitive and user-friendly.

I then decided that I wanted to pursue design as a career and thus worked at a startup as a UXUI designer for 1.5 years. And now I’m continuing my journey at Lalamove!

Complementary to my design passion, I have also been a fashion & portrait photographer since 2017. I love exploring new ideas and concepts to bring to life, and I enjoy working with people, all contributing their various talents/skills to make great images.

What does a typical day look like?

  1. Gym
  2. Nutritious breakfast
  3. Work
  4. Make dinner
  5. Watch anime or read a book
  6. Sleep

Name three non-designers you feel inspired by when designing.

What would your self-portrait look like?

😁 🤪 🏋🏼‍♀️ 🏀 🎮 📸 🎸 🦜🎨

Anything you want to promote or plug?

My photography work: www.instagram.com/zarefkhan_

--

--