Start A Backyard Flock : Chickens for the Garden and More!

Howl Hollow
Land And Ladle
Published in
5 min readNov 22, 2016

I used to be the lady that would be too busy to have any type of livestock. I have five children, that had activities, games, homework, groups etc. to run to everyday. I just didn’t have time to do that plus the other various “mom related” items that would fill my day.

Little did I know that raising a backyard flock took as little as 10 minutes a day to care for.

One day as I sat on my dad’s back porch visiting and chatting we began a conversation that sparked an interest in me that I just couldn’t douse. I ended up going home with three of his grown hens, which we subsequently named, Bertha, Bianca and Bethy. We talked that day about the abundance of eggs, and how the girls made fertilizer for the garden.

From that short interesting conversation, I was able to grow knowledge through countless hours of research and shear curiosity.

I’d like to share some of my knowledge through this short blog in hopes of sparking an interest in some of you. Keeping chickens is so rewarding on so many different levels.

First let’s talk breed. You should know why you want to keep chickens. What are your interests? Would you like to grow your own meat and butcher, or do you just love to gain a little chicken therapy while they make garden fertilizer? Or are you in it for the egg production?

Another thing you’ll need to consider is what climate you live in when choosing a breed. Some breeds for instance are more cold hardy than others. I know here in Northern Pennsylvania that we can get into the negative numbers in the winter so I chose several breeds that do very well in the cold months of the year.

Edna and her girl friends pigging out on the free range buffet.

My Favorite out of all my girls is my Barred Rocks. They are dual purpose breed chickens meaning they have good egg production and can be used for meat. I like mine because they are a fairly calm and friendly breed, and they don’t go broody very often. They give me beautiful medium brown eggs each day even during the winter months!

If you don’t know what broody means, it’s just a term for a chickens who insists on hatching a clutch of eggs, no matter if the eggs are hers or not.

My second favorite would have to be our Buff Orpingtons. The ones I raised from chicks would fly up to my shoulder and perch. They have to be the most affectionate chickens I’ve ever owned (other than my easter egger whom we call Hawk-eye). These birds are quiet, and lay me large light brown eggs. They are well adjusted to the cold and have those cute fluffy butts everyone loves. These girls also make wonderful mothers and I can’t wait to see if my Buff, “Blondie” will hatch a bunch of chicks this coming year!

No matter what breed you pick chickens really have a place in your backyard. Especially for gardeners! Did you know that by following some simple perma-culture guidelines that you can have an amazing abundance each spring and summer just from keeping chickens? If you don’t know what perma-culture is, it’s just the lazy farmers way to make his land work for him or her. Basically at the end of each growing season I allow my chickens to clear the left over plants, till the earth while they forage and fertilize the soil with their droppings. Come next season I’ll have wonderful nitrogen rich earth to plant my vegetables in.

Not only does my garden then work for me with out all the extra effort, but in turn I’ve fed my chickens pretty much for free! There are many resources out there in the world of the web. I suggests looking into ways to make your backyard a beautiful space with little effort through perma-culture.

Our Cornish Cross at 8 weeks old

Chickens are also an amazing way of producing protein for you and your family. Once your specific breed comes of laying age you can expect to have 1–2 eggs per day per chicken for your cooking and baking needs! Most farmers say you should keep at least two chickens per family member because in the winter months laying will sometimes lessen and you’ll still be able to get an adequate supply of eggs for your family.

Plus home farm grown chickens actually have been proven to provide eggs with more nutrients and vitamins, than commercial grade chicken eggs. On top of this you’ll know your eggs are fresh. Did you know that eggs from the store are generally 6–8 months old when you buy them? I’m not kidding!

Not only this but if you choose a meat breed chicken you can make amazing soups, casseroles, and even chicken and dumplings fresh from your land. To think you can know exactly what your chicken ate. To know it wasn’t fed hormones or antibiotics is just one way we rest easy. Our favorite chicken breed for meat on our small farm is our Cornish Cross Cocks. Say that three times fast, lol. They can be harvested between 8–12 weeks of age which means you aren’t spending tons of money on food keeping them for months on end and they are the perfect size for a family of 4.

If you have no interest in gardening, eating your chickens or even the eggs, Chickens can seriously be purely therapeutic. They each have their own little personalities and have a way of cheering your blues away even on the toughest of days. And you can make a little extra cash from their butt nuggets on the side by selling unwanted eggs to your neighbors and friends!

I never in all my life thought I’d love a chicken, but I can’t imagine not having them around now. They really are a vital part of our small farm and an interesting addition to our lives. In as little at 10 minutes a day we get all the goodness they provide for so little effort! I encourage you to try it for yourself. I think you’ll wonder why you haven’t done it sooner.

If you want to know more about chicken farming or to follow our continuing story please stay tuned. You’re invited to also follow us on instagram and Facebook at Howl Hollow Farm, You can shop us on etsy and on Youtube.

--

--