Today someone egged my car. Here is why I am mad.

Erin Meyer
Land And Ladle
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2017

Today I walked outside to find that my trusty Honda had been egged. Someone threw a single egg leaving streaks and egg shells splattered across it.

I do not care much about my hardy Honda. While it has been with me through thick and thin and it has been a trooper mile after mile, it is simply a means of transport. It gets me where I need to go. So I don’t care that someone made a mess of it.

Here is why I am mad: Someone wasted an egg on my car.

That egg represents:

Nutrition: 90 Calories, 7.9 g of protein, many vitamins and minerals.

Resources: 53 gallons of water, energy, inputs, food and land for the animals, transportation and the associated economic and environmental costs for transporting the animals and finished product, labor to produce the eggs, equipment.

Money

Animal Suffering

Environmental consequences: GHG emissions, pollution and much more...

Someone wasted an egg, and everything that it represents, on my car, when people are hungry and when globally, we already waste 40% of our food.

Whoever this person is, I deem them a bad egg.

On a closing note, the irony here needs to be pointed out: someone wasted an egg by throwing it at a vegan’s car who has moved to town to fight food waste and food insecurity

Oh and someone should study how much food is wasted annually in eggings and in cafeteria food fights. Surely, there is a gap in the research here.

Don’t be a bad egg and keep fighting the food waste war!

--

--

Erin Meyer
Land And Ladle

Running the streets and advocating for sustainable eats.