An Agent’s Success Story: How Landis Transformed My Real Estate Business

Amanda Cobos
Landis Blog
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2023

Hear the story of Jeff Kanowsky, the school principal turned agent who spent $30 on a Landis Facebook ad that resulted in 16 deals.

Embarking on my real estate career, I faced an uphill battle as a new agent. My sphere consisted mainly of older homeowners who weren’t ready to make a move. Determined to grow my business, I decided to run an ad for Landis, a real estate platform that helps people become homeowners who aren’t ready for traditional mortgages. Little did I know that this small investment would lead to a series of remarkable opportunities and a significant boost to my career.

The First Experience: 22 Leads Turned into 16 Transactions

After running a $30 ad for Landis, I received an impressive response with 22 leads. Applying my relentless approach to client communication, including smart plans, drip campaigns, and regular phone calls, I managed to convert two of those leads into successful transactions. One client was unable to secure a mortgage because they had just started their new pool business, but Landis’s unique program enabled them to get approved. This success not only led to a strong professional bond but also resulted in referrals from the client’s employees and family members, leading to 8 additional deals.

The other lead was actually ready for a mortgage already but just didn’t know it! We got them a home and met other referrals through the family for another 7 transactions.

The Snowball Effect: Expanding Opportunities

As time passed, the initial couple who had used Landis bought their home from Landis and eventually decided to upgrade their property, resulting in two more transactions. At the same time, their business continued to flourish, leading to the need for expanded warehouse space, which I assisted them in renting. When their son relocated to the area, I helped him find his new home. What started as a single Landis transaction blossomed into a network of satisfied clients and friends, ultimately resulting in a total of nine successful transactions.

Advice for New Agents Entering the Landis Realm

For agents new to Landis, setting clear expectations with clients is paramount. It is crucial to educate them about the unique process, emphasizing that it differs from traditional mortgage-based purchases. Being transparent about timelines and steps in the Landis process ensures that clients have accurate expectations. It is also essential to communicate openly with selling agents and manage their expectations regarding repairs, as Landis does not accept credit for repairs.

Utilizing Landis as a Valuable Tool Today

Even today, I continue to run ads for Landis, attracting new leads and staying in touch with them. If a lead doesn’t initially qualify, I focus on understanding their obstacles and work towards helping them overcome those barriers until they become eligible. Landis remains a critical tool in my real estate toolbox, serving as the primary source for first-time homebuyers and significantly contributing to my business success.

Time-Saving Hacks for Real Estate Success

To make the most of my time, I rely on a robust CRM system and utilize drip campaigns. Automating communication through well-crafted smart plans saves me from creating individual content every day. I also block out specific time slots for phone calls, dedicating one hour each day to reach out to potential clients. I prioritize consistent contact, with a personal goal of reaching out to around 100 people per week.

The Gratifying Aspects of the Real Estate Profession

My favorite part of being a real estate agent is the opportunity to meet and engage with people while helping them navigate the significant decision of homeownership. After retiring from education, I found immense satisfaction in guiding individuals through the home buying process and forming meaningful connections. Building relationships and becoming friends with clients are some of the most rewarding aspects of my career.

--

--