Now, at the end of the semester

Xincun Du
[Different] Landscapes
3 min readDec 14, 2020

This semester is my first semester of exposure to the American landscape system. From the beginning to the final harvest of the semester, it seems to be a long process, but in fact, I feel that time passes quickly.

Throughout the semester, we’ve been talking about armature. Our first assignment is to map the armature of our hometown. At first, I was very confused about what exactly armature is. I didn’t know whether armature was a mosaic or a patch. Thanks to Kristina and Dani. I finally figure out that are liner elements such as roads/rivers/dams. Mapping not only made me know armature better, but also gave me some inspiration for drawing expression. It made me understand that beautiful drawing must serve clear expression, not just looks beautiful.

The second assignment of the semester is the design of lagoon Park in Marin City. We take a kind of animal protection as a clue to design a small park with both habitat and recreation functions. At the same time, it is also necessary to solve the ecological problem that sea level rise may submerge the design area. In this project, I have to thank my teammates Yilin and Zhehang. I was surprised and inspired by the many ideas they put forward. In this project, I learned how to use highways, pipelines, wetlands and bioswale to deal with sea level rise in coastal communities. I also learned how to consider the social justice issues of different races in the design.

The last project is large-scale regional planning. This time, our project comes to the OLU ring in the bay area. The final project is personal work. I chose the coastal area to the east of San Mateo city. This area is faced with serious sea-level rise problem. We draw inspiration from the examples mentioned in case study and transport them to the planning plot. Compared with the design, this project is more to promote us to think about how to improve employment, decarbonize and realize social equity by means of intervention. I personally think this is one of the most helpful projects for me this semester. With the help of Kristina and Dani, I completely subverted the result-oriented design training of undergraduate students, and went deep into the ecological and social problems in this area and how to solve the problems with existing cases, instead of focusing too much on the curve of the plane, like how to make the curve road or how to plant trees and manage houses. I am very grateful for the last project.

Last but not least, Thanks for Kristina and Dani, I still remember that they still set aside critical and office hours for us during the daily holidays and Thanksgiving answering our doubts and helping us to learn how to think. Thank you who have cooperated with us and have conducted the studio course together this semester. It is

Thanks to Kristina and Dani, I still remember that they still set aside critical and office hours for me during the daily holidays and thanksgiving to answer our doubts and lead us to think. Thank you to all the students who have cooperated with us and the students who have conducted the studio course together this semester. It is such a great experience!

--

--

Xincun Du
[Different] Landscapes

I am a second year master student in landscape architecture program. I love movies and tennis.