Image by Nancy D Harris

The Toll Bridge

When will the tolls we pay be enough?

Nancy D Harris
2 min readAug 25, 2021

--

Mama, mama! I’m 16 years old. Why does the driver’s license place require that my father sign for my learner’s permit? Don’t they understand that Daddy died 5 years ago?

Oh sweetheart, there’s a toll on that bridge, and we don’t have the currency to pay it yet.

Mama, mama! I’m 19 years old. All through high school, the girls’ basketball team only got to practice when the boys didn’t need the gym. How come they’ve now named the new gym for the principal who let that happen?

Oh sunshine, there’s a toll on that bridge, and we’re still working to get the currency to pay it.

Mama, mama, I’m 25 years old. My husband and I decided to buy a set of encyclopedias but the salesman won’t come sell me the books unless my husband can be there too. Don’t they think a working woman is smart enough to buy a set of books on her own?

Oh daughter, there’s a toll on that bridge, and we’re still miles away from lifting the gate.

Mama, mama. I’m really enjoying my new job at the dinner theatre. When the stage manager left, they offered me the job, and I was looking forward to announcing the start of the show like he did. Now they tell me that it needs a man’s voice. What’s wrong with my voice?

Oh honey, there’s nothing wrong with your voice, and it will ring clear as we get closer to that toll booth.

Mama, mama, I’ve worked really hard in this office and a promotion looked promising. But the boss gave the job to a guy I trained just a year ago. Why did he think I wasn’t better for the job?

Oh wise woman, you are so much closer to the toll booth on that bridge than you know. Have you seen the footprints of all the women who have walked towards that toll booth before you? Each one carried a small coin and deposited it in the toll bucket. Coin piled upon coin, and eventually those approaching the toll booth could see the glimmer of those coins rising to the top.

It is now up to you, your daughters and granddaughters to make those coins spill over the edge of the bucket so one day we will all attain the riches on the far side of the bridge.

--

--

Nancy D Harris
Landslide Lit (erary)

My writing focuses on family history, often relating to social issues, in short stories and prose poetry. By occupation, I am a musician and music contractor.