Letter to the editor

I Choose to believe Christine Blasey Ford

Laney Tower
Laney Tower
1 min readOct 13, 2018

--

As a bi-racial woman, I have faced many challenges in my life. As a woman in general I have dealt with the assumption that I am ignorant, that I want to be touched, and I enjoy attention.

Frankly, at times I feel unsafe in my body and skin. I am harassed because of my physical appearance, whether I look like a goddess or like a devil does not matter. Dr. Ford is a brave woman and she will be remembered as such regardless of how people attempt to smear her reputation. Is her story true?

It is a skeptical situation but I choose to believe her. I cannot relate to being involved with a man of political power, but I know what it’s like for a man to strip away my freedom to choose. I truly hope one day there can be a solution to this vicious cycle that continues to affect millions of people.

Mau Kirkwood
Communications Studies

--

--

Laney Tower
Laney Tower

The student-run publication of the Peralta Community Colleges and the surrounding communities