Violence still lives in MLK Jr.’s shadow

Laney Tower
Laney Tower
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2014

I admit the fact that there are too many injustices in America against people of color, but I don’t think violence is the answer to this problem. This is not what Martin Luther King Jr. taught us.
I believe that if Martin Luther King Jr. were alive, he would be deeply heartbroken with the American people. First, he would express his distress towards the police brutality; and second, to those who chose violence to fight against the injustices.
In 2012, I immigrated to this country from Asia. Since then I have been living in Oakland. When I first arrived in this country, I had a belief that American people are fortunate to live in a society with equality, justice, and rich technology.
I thought, the reason behind this privilege is because of the civil rights movement led by Dr. King. I didn’t have this privilege back in my country. I spent 20 years in a refugee camp, where it was hard to secure the basic needs to live a dignified life.
Knowing injustices have been done to my community, I chose the path to violence in order to fight against the injustices. Regret, rage, and revenge were my path. It took me many years to finally
understand that violence leads nowhere. It only breeds more violence resulting in more pain and suffering to the people.
How did I come to this realization? It was through Martin Luther King Jr. He was my hero who inspired me to walk the path to peace.
When I knew that I would be coming to the country where Dr. King lived, my heart was filled with hopes and aspirations because I knew I was going to live my life in the most peaceful country in the world.
But, now, after three years of my residency, I know that I miscalculated.
America still needs people like Martin Luther King Jr., people who can fight against the injustices in a constructive way; people who can bring together millions of people with his dreams; people who can teach love and compassion; and a man who is the voice of under-privileged people.

--

--

Laney Tower
Laney Tower

The student-run publication of the Peralta Community Colleges and the surrounding communities