Jenna Jones
languagepool-study
Published in
1 min readNov 12, 2015

--

My experiences of language learning

As a bilingual, who studied and examined in a language different from my native tongue, people have always said that learning a third language would be pretty straight forward. But here I am, A Berlin resident ‘since’ and I have barely mastered the basics, despite my efforts.

I had a personal tutor in London, which I remember nothing from.

I was then introduced top Duolingo, which I played daily, for around 5 weeks, I still occasionally use the app, but find that the vocabulary taught is quite irrelevant.

My next attempt was with a Michelle Thomas Audiobook on a long haul flight to LA. I learned Bleibe. Oh, and that you have to put the second verb at the end of the sentence. Ich will hier bleiben.

Fed up of lonely learning, I booked a German Tutor to come to the office to teach a small group. We lasted 2 sessions before the group dissolved and the teacher became too expensive.

I now use (my very limited) German wherever possible and work from a work book at home, play duolingo and have just signed up to the language gym!

--

--