People’s Reaction to His Fluency in Klingon

Myfluentpodcast
Language Hub
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2023

Wonder how people react when they find out someone is fluent in Klingon? This post is for you.

Klingon by Wikimedia Commonshttps://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Klingon_(1305760507).jpg#mw-jump-to-license

Recently, I had the chance to talk to André Müller, a linguist and language enthusiast from Germany, who is fluent in Klingon and many other languages. I asked him how people react when they learn about him being fluent in Klingon.

André’s answer to what people say about his fluency in Klingon

Some people love it, some find it really funny. Some think it’s cool because they know I already know a lot of languages, including Klingon. Others think I’m a geek or that it’s a waste of time. They ask why I don’t learn a "real" language instead. But I explain to them that learning Klingon or Esperanto is just a hobby for me, something I enjoy. It’s like other people playing the guitar or playing chess. It brings me joy. And just like someone who enjoys going to the cinema, it’s a hobby, nothing more. I find joy in doing these things.

It’s like playing the guitar. We don’t judge others when they say they enjoy going to the cinema. It’s just a hobby, and we find joy in doing it.

We don’t expect to become famous musicians or chess champions. We do it for ourselves, for the joy it brings. And for me, that joy comes from learning Klingon, Esperanto, and other languages too. It’s all about finding joy in our hobbies and interests.

If you feel like learning Arabic, Russian, English or whatever, just go for it! Don’t let other people’s words or thoughts stop you. It’s your life and your hobby.

Happy learning! Cheers, your Daniel

--

--

Myfluentpodcast
Language Hub

Language learner, podcast enthusiast, reader, gamer