Spanish Slang 101: Balls

How to have a conversation just by using the word balls

Claudia Caraulan
4 min readJun 8, 2022
Spanish slang
Image by the author

As I always say, Spanish is a fun language. Let me prove it this time, by teaching you how you can use the word balls-cojones to say anything. You can have a full conversation, just by using this word and the idioms made out of it. Keep in mind that everybody has cojones in Spain, unless you are a coward.

Let’s start by learning the importance of the number of cojones mentioned.

One

Here you can find two options:

  • You say: me ha costado un cojón or ¡Y UN COJÓN!

Translation: it cost me a ball or AND A BALL!

  • Meaning: the first one would be used to emphasize whereas, the second one would mean NOT A CHANCE!

Two

  • You say: esta chica tiene dos/un par de cojones (bien puestos).

Translation: this girl has two balls or a pair of balls (well placed).

  • Meaning: she’s very brave.

Three

  • You say: me importa tres cojones (y medio).

Translation: I care three balls (and a half).

  • Meaning: I couldn’t care less.

Thirty three

--

--