Unraveling the Myth: Do the Dutch Really Excel in Learning Foreign Languages?

Stef van den Tweel
6 min readMay 11, 2023
Photo by Tim Roosjen on Unsplash

The Netherlands is known for many things. Windmills, wooden shoes, cheese, tall people and liberal attitudes might come to mind when attempting to paint a mental picture of the low countries. But as the language enthusiast which I know you are, your first association with the country might be of a different nature.

The Dutch are famous for their affinity with learning foreign languages. They are at the top of the ranks when it comes to English proficiency among non-native speakers. In addition to that, it is often said that a large part of the population even speaks a third or a fourth language.

As a Dutchie with a burning passion for the fine art of language, these assertions fill me with a profound sense of pride, yet they also confuse me a bit, for in my daily life I don’t recognize them. Sure, most of my acquaintances can get by in English and they may know a few vulgar phrases in French, German or Spanish, but that’s it; I know of very few Dutch people who sit around reading Dickens and are able to hold fluent conversations across the border.

To clear up my confusion, I decided to dive into the facts and the figures about foreign language proficiency in the Netherlands and to share my findings with you, my valued reader. Why, do you ask? Well, because I…

--

--

Stef van den Tweel

Aspiring author based in the Netherlands, sharing thoughts about language, culture and travel.