5 Reasons Why You Often Forget English Words

And how to improve vocabulary retention

Marie C.
Language Lab

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

When Annie first joined my class, she had been learning English for 2 years. She had memorized at least twenty new words daily for the past two years. But she could only use one or two words to answer my questions, not to mention a complete sentence.

After three months, with only a two-hour lesson weekly, her English became fluent. She can now use English to express her thoughts and opinions.

How did Annie do it?

In this article, I want to share common reasons for this issue I have observed among my students and provide practical solutions if you are learning English.

Why do you forget English words?

  1. You may not be practicing enough: When was the last time you wrote or spoke in English? Unlike native speakers, ESL learners might not have the opportunity to use English in their daily lives. When you need to use English, you may end up silent.
  2. You may fear making mistakes: The fear of making mistakes can paralyze you during conversations, causing you to overthink and forget even the simplest words or phrases.
  3. You may be using limited vocabulary: Are you aware that you always use the same words…

--

--

Marie C.
Language Lab

I am an ESL English Teacher. I teach GEPT, TOEIC and IELTS.