How Climbing Mt. Elbrus Gave Me Strength for Future Endeavors

My adventures in the Russian language

Chris Eubanks
Language Lab

--

Mt. Elbrus summit 18,510 ft (5,642 m). Photo by the author.

My experience of Russia is a human story, one that connects Boston, Australia, and Russia in the perfect bridge of consciousness. And yes, I just referred to Boston as a “sovereign state.”

My story is also about setting goals that are so inherently exciting, that I had no other choice than to persevere at “all costs.” It’s amazing how much I’ll try for something that truly excites me, yet I might give up quickly for an easy-to-reach goal.

This is the hardest article I’ve ever written. It could have gone in 100 different directions. Russian consciousness is complicated. It takes someone with an insatiable curiosity to even scratch the surface of the Russian mind. I say insatiable because even normal curiosity isn’t sufficient enough to break outside the “norms” of being an American.

As someone who won the financial lottery of being born on American soil, I’m “supposed to be” on the “career track,” increasing my earnings potential and buying a house in a safe suburb.

Little did I know that on this Mt. Elbrus expedition, Russian consciousness would “grab me” so hard.

Not a single day has gone by since 2017 where I haven’t…

--

--

Chris Eubanks
Language Lab

Language learner. Rapidly learning the Finnish language. Follow me for specific knowledge to speed up your language journey.