How to Learn a Language Naturally From Home

You can learn a language without classes, apps, or boring grammar textbooks.

Eduard Fastovski
Language Lab

--

Reading Asterix comics is one of my favorite ways of learning Polish

I’m currently studying Polish at an intermediate level and Mandarin Chinese at a beginner level. I’m also fluent in Russian, and I’ve dabbled in German and Arabic.

I love the process of learning a language. But at the same time, I hate how they are taught. Especially if you are trying to teach yourself without any classes or tutoring.

This girl has three triangular cups.

A fish is not a dog.

The boys are singing songs.

These are all sentences I got when using apps to study. And while they are not that bad for learning how a language works, they drive you crazy when you are made to repeat them 10 or 20 times.

Personally, I think apps are only useful for absolute beginners, in the first 10 hours or so of language study. Depending on how much time you spend studying, this might take a couple of weeks or a couple of months. Much further than that and they become less effective.

On the other hand, we have traditional language learning textbooks — useful if you have to study for a test, although not so useful, in my opinion, for actually using a language.

--

--

Eduard Fastovski
Language Lab

Freelance dev from Australia living in Poland. I write about freelancing & web design, online business, and self-improvement. fastovski.com