Now Is the Time to Fully Commit

Never do things halfway

Selvi M
Language Lab
2 min readSep 15, 2024

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Have you ever had a moment when you realized,

Oh my dear, I’ve wasted so much time on something that isn’t important. I should have used my time better, like learning a skill.

That thought crossed my mind at the beginning of 2024. As an English language learner, I’ve often regretted my stagnant skills. My progress has been slower than I hoped. I know that English has opened my eyes to the world. Even with my English still a work in progress, I could dive into fascinating articles on Medium, make friends from all over the world, enjoy great books, and pick up insights from movies, podcasts, songs, and more.

Yet, I haven’t upgraded my English skills, which has led me to miss many opportunities. For instance, there was a day when I interviewed for a chemistry teacher position at a prestigious school in my town. The interviewer noticed that my English wasn’t very fluent, and as a result, I was rejected. This issue has also affected other opportunities, such as jobs, scholarships, and volunteer positions, where strong English skills are a key requirement. It’s disheartening when you’re passionate about something, but your abilities fall short of what’s needed to achieve it.

I’ve been learning English for a long time, but I never committed to learning. I never set any clear goals or targets, and I let my mood dictate my efforts. As a result, even though I’ve invested years in learning English, the results haven’t been as sophisticated as I hoped.

People say that if we want different results, we need to take a different approach. This year, I’ve started setting specific goals and targets to improve my English. I read, write, and practice speaking more. I’ve also created a schedule to stay consistent with these activities. It was difficult at the beginning, but I’m proud of myself for staying committed to learning.

If we know that a skill will be important for our life, why only pursue it halfway? We tell ourselves that the right opportunity hasn’t come yet and that we’re waiting for the perfect time to commit. But we all know that the future is unpredictable. In the end, when the opportunity comes, we may find ourselves unprepared because we didn’t have the dedication for it. This only leads to regret.

It takes a lot of effort, especially when we realize how far we are from our goals. But if not now, when?

--

--