Why I Regret Trying to Learn German in Just 6 Months

Avoid my German learning mistakes; they might lead to depression, isolation, and overwhelm.

Krystyna Trushyna
Language Lab
7 min readJul 24, 2024

--

Bild von ❤ Monika 💚 💚 Schröder ❤ auf Pixabay

Yes, I have regrets when it comes to learning languages — not the actual learning, but the how.

One of my main regrets is trying to learn German in a mere six months.

At the time, I remember how totally overwhelmed I felt. Not that German is a language only rocket scientists (or the super clever types) can attempt. Rather, I put way too much pressure on myself.

I underestimated the complexity of German, and all my attention went into learning German.

Oh, and the usuals — breathing, sleeping, eating, you know.

But there was no study-life balance that left time to explore my German city, practice self-care, or have time for friends.

Honestly, it was depressing.

And in a way, it was the first major failure for me.

Why Did I Want to Learn German in 6 Months?

It was more a case of “had to” than really “wanted to,” but kinda both.

After finishing my language and literature studies at Kyiv National Linguistic University, I wanted to further my studies at Goethe University in Frankfurt, Germany.

I got in, and when I arrived in Germany with a two-year visa, I was placed in an A2-level German class for beginners.

I wanted to start my studies as soon as possible (and my visa constraints also significantly influenced this).

But I needed to take and pass the Kleines Deutsches Sprachdiplom (DAF) exams, which are at the C1 level of language proficiency.

A C1 proficiency level in German seemed attainable in a year. So my plan was to advance from an A2 German language student to a B2 level in six months, and then I’d have another six months to get to the C1 fluency level.

The Mittelstufe Exam, which is a B2 proficiency level, is offered twice a year, so I had six months to learn enough German to pass this exam and attend C1 classes.

I believed I had set realistic goals, based on my previous language-learning experiences.

Interested in learning more about the challenges of mastering German? Read my article: Is German Really Hard to Learn? Jein… My Journey

How Did I Learn German During the Regrettable 6 Months?

To reach my language goals, I used a multi-faceted approach to make the most of the time I had and to cram in as much info as I could.

I used:

  • Classroom Learning

I attended German language classes twice a day, five days a week. These sessions gave me a structured learning environment and a solid foundation in grammar and vocabulary.

  • Intensive Language Course

Seems like I couldn’t get enough of classroom learning, as I also enrolled in an intensive language course at a private language school.

These classes were scheduled for five days a week, and I hoped that by doubling down on courses and classes, I could speed up my learning curve.

  • Immersive Practices

In addition to my classes and homework, I immersed myself further in the language and culture.

I read German newspapers, watched German TV shows and movies, and listened to German music (specifically Schlagers music).

My daily language learning routine was grueling. I’d wake up early, attend classes, spend hours on homework and more self-study, and then try to unwind (is that even the right word when you’re trying to learn a language) with German media.

Every moment of those first six months in Germany was dedicated to absorbing as much of the language as possible.

My Challenges

It turns out my goals weren’t as realistic as I had believed.

In essence, my challenges with trying to learn German (from an A2 to a B2 level) in six months were two-fold:

German is a really complex language.

While it may not seem like German is complicated, given that it shares some roots with English, it has really intricate grammar rules and a huge vocabulary.

I was overwhelmed by the sheer amount of theoretical information I had to take in.

And I’m not even mentioning the grammar and other language rules I had to come to terms with.

The time constraints I imposed did me in.

Given how much there is to learn, I simply had too little time, even though I was dedicated to my German studies 24/7.

It was challenging to balance grammar, vocabulary, speaking and listening skills, and practicing what I’d learned in class in real-life situations, as my time was limited.

This made it even more difficult to internalize what I’d learned.

When Did Regret Set In?

I felt regret when I faced my first major setback.

During the six months, I thought that I was doing well and taking in everything I was learning.

But I didn’t pass the first Mittelstufe B2 exam.

I actually missed passing by just a few points.

Sigh.

Bild von Gerd Altmann auf Pixabay

It was my first failure — I had always passed my tests and exams at school and university.

So not passing this exam was a huge knock to my self-esteem and ego. I can’t explain how frustrated and disappointed I felt.

But I know if you’ve failed at anything in your life that you had your mind and heart set on, you’ll know how I felt.

I had to pull myself together though.

And so I did.

I enrolled in another German language course, applied for the next B2 exam, and scheduled it for six months later.

I passed the second exam.

Yay.

But my regret wasn’t just that I failed the first exam. I had realized what I had sacrificed to study so immensely hard that first semester.

I was obsessed with passing the necessary exams to start my studies in Germany, and so I dedicated all my time to learning and studying, without having a life, engaging in fun activities, and spending time with my friends.

At just 21–22 years old at the time, my life there had become quite isolating, lonely, and depressing.

What Should You Read Next?

What I Wish I Had Done Differently

Reflecting on my experience, now decades later, I’ve realized that there are various things I would have done differently if I could travel back in time:

  • A study-life balance is a must.

So while I’d have hit the books hard, so to speak, I’d also have engaged in self-care and social activities.

I’d take time to explore Frankfurt, make friends, and enjoy hobbies that would have enriched my experience in the foreign country and prevented burnout.

  • The journey is just as enjoyable and beautiful as the destination.

I missed out on savoring the language-learning journey, being too focused on the end results.

There are so many opportunities to learn naturally and enjoyably by engaging with German culture and daily life in the country, and I wish I’d taken the time to appreciate these moments more (and had more of these!).

  • Being more lenient with the time frame I’d set.

I’d have passed the B2 exam and enjoyed the whole process more if I’d set a longer, more flexible time frame for learning German.

While a sprint is fun, learning a language is more like training for a marathon, and the key is to pace yourself.

My Advice for Anyone Wanting to Learn German

If you are in a similar boat or starting to learn a language, here’s my advice:

  • Set Realistic Goals

Be honest about what you can achieve in the time you have. Unrealistic expectations only lead to disappointment, so I’d recommend ensuring your language goals follow the SMART principles.

  • Integrate Learning into Life

Make language learning part of your daily routine; however, be careful that it doesn’t consume your whole life. Have fun with learning.

  • Stay Social

Maintain hobbies, make friends, and explore your surroundings. I firmly believe that learning a new language is much more effective and enjoyable when you integrate it with your social and cultural life.

  • Be Kind to Yourself

Be patient and forgiving with yourself while you learn a new language. It’s more than okay to stumble, fall, and face-plant.

It’s the getting up and finding the motivation to keep going that’s important, as well as the lessons you learn from your mistakes and failures.

Viel Erfolg! :)

Thank you for reading! Have you had similar experiences while learning German? Share your story, and let’s learn from each other.

--

--

Krystyna Trushyna
Language Lab

I love writing about dating beyond borders, different languages, and cultures. I blog, run my own online business, and love doing Pilates. www.krioda.com