Software for Japanese study!

encody
Language Learning Blog
2 min readNov 19, 2018

I’ve been working on my Japanese for a good long while now, and have come up with a pretty decent learning setup on my devices. Here’s the software I use.

Anki

Of course, no language-learning tools list would be complete without it. Two of the most useful add-ons for Japanese study are Japanese Support and AnkiConnect. I’ll explain in a bit.

Yomichan

I use Firefox as my browser of choice, and Yomichan makes browsing Japanese websites a breeze. Simply hover over a kanji with your mouse (try it:謳歌) and Yomichan will show you what it means.

One of my favorite features of Yomichan is its AnkiConnect integration, which allows me to quickly and easily add cards to Anki straight from the comfort of my browser.

Google IME

For those of you hoping to be able to use your written Japanese language skills outside of handwriting, this is for you. Type in the romaji, get back the kana.

Renshuu.org

This website is a souped-up SRS with prebuilt decks and study paths for many popular textbooks. It also provides example sentences for many words, which are invaluable for learning a word in context. This is a great tool for those of you studying in a class along with a textbook.

Jisho.org

Online dictionary. I use it every day. ‘Nuff said.

Japanese StackExchange

High-quality answers to high-quality questions. Only. Also, their list of resources.

--

--