Give Us Our Horrors

Listen to ‘Infrared’ by Chino

Uvika Wahi
lankystrum

--

Lately I have been nursing a broken clavicle back to health, after having done the same thing once before in 2015. My foremost bond with EBM is embedded in the moments where I feel like I am being dragged across a sawdust floor cruelly by my bad arm. This sounds like a bad thing, but on the contrary it is part of a crucial purging ritual, one that helps me expel fears and anxieties, channeling inner volatility into a type of external response, however temporarily. Blowing off steam, if you will.

This is a requirement that modern body music fulfills, albeit sporadically. I am relieved, therefore, that Unsound resident and Radar co-founder Chino’s The Cave does that all-important job of bringing the sensation of a chainsaw being dragged slowly, almost lovingly across my inflamed brain.

The Cave is teeming with jabs to the guts and everywhere else, and so it might seem that my pick off the tracks ‘Infrared’ is something of an underdog, but I stand by it. It reveals the brutality of its being with a languidness and care that reveals, nay, unfurls itself over a period of many mandatory repeat listens.

Listen here:

Released November 12, 2019

Music by Artur OLEŚ
Art by Karol Jaworski
Master & Cut at Manmade
Press at Monotype
Distributed by Bordello A Parigi

--

--