Cognitive Dissonance©*

Richard Lanoix
LanoixVisions
Published in
3 min readJun 19, 2019

I am not sure I know how to play this game anymore.

Instinctively,
I know the routine- affable, charming, witty, seductive-
but I no longer believe.

I am the Lion
who has unwittingly embraced
the virtues of being a vegetarian,
but must still lead my pride in the hunt,
less they perish.

My domain is now
the vast plains of cognitive dissonance.

My attraction to you is impulsive.
I have been compelled with such intensity before,
but the source was never a mystery.

Regardless of the confabulated yarn I was weaving,
it was always the pursuit of the delicate scent
that defines woman.

This is different.

A different
more intricate confabulation perhaps?

Different because the source
does not lay between your legs.
It, in fact, does not reside within your being.

It is you,
as a reflection of me,
as a reflection of you.

There is no me
that desires you.
There is only the reflection
that reveals a me that
I only imagined,
and a you
that defies my three-dimensional sensibilities.

Yet in your presence,
I simply am.

The questions fall away as distant memories.
They are no more than
the ubiquitous cacophony of rhythms on Playa at Burning Man-all beats merging into all others,
rendered incoherent,
and thus irrelevant
in the glow and daze of ecstasy.

It is not the outcome that entices me.
What exhilarates me is the very possibility.

The odds are infinitesimal,
but within that grain of sand
William Blake perceived
an entire world.

Within you,
I perceive the very root of agape,
Walt Whitman’s “origin of all poems.”

What is more exhilarating,
is that you are not even aware
that entire galaxies
are both born and perish
with one blink of your eye.

If I could only hold
a mirror large enough
to show you your wings,
your reaction would delight the Gods.

And if not?

If in fact
the grain of sand
is merely a grain of sand?
And you, my love,
if only mortal,
without wings,
still win the prize
for affording me a glimpse of the Divine.

I will forever be in your debt
for allowing me to believe,
if only for a moment,
that Angels walk among us.

Rumi spoke of a field.
I want to abide with you in that field.
One moment there would be like an eternity.
Can you find it?

The very thought of walking with you in this field,
hand in hand,
reduces all time
to a single point:

Pure bliss!

*This poem is part of a collection entitled: “Reflections on the Nature of Love and Sex.” Contact me (richlanoix@yahoo.com) if interested in luxuriating in these reflections.

I am an emergency physician, writer and a lover of life. The purpose of this blog is to share my ideas, experiences and perspectives as they relate to Consciousness, and as they evolve. Consciousness encompasses everything in my life, your life, the world, the Universe — in other words — EVERYTHING! As the great Shaman Don Diego used to say: “It’s not the most important thing, and it’s not the least important thing…It’s the ONLY thing!”

Check out my novel: “The Twin Flames, the Master, and the Game”! It’s available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Balboa Press.

--

--

Richard Lanoix
LanoixVisions

I was born in Haiti and immigrated to New York City, where I lived for the past 50 years. I practice emergency medicine and write about Consciousness.