Volunteerism at Laravel Cebu

Dorell James
Laravel Cebu
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2019

The year 2015, I first joined a community and dedicated my time to it partly. I am not so sure back then what were my exact reasons but I think it was more because I was thrilled having found peers who are like me dealing with the same thing which is I believe is really cool and awesome.

Very first meetup of Laravel Cebu — August 29, 2015 (See photo here)

I’m not so sure how things came to be but fast-forward today, I am ever so proud of being where the community organization is - not only that it’s actively doing meetups, code camps, etc. but it really warms my heart seeing my young self in the faces of our volunteers today.

At the conclusion of our code camp using Laravel at CTU (left) and SCSIT (right)

In our recent school code camps, we are really at joy seeing and experiencing fun, laughter, excitement, thrill, “you name it” as we do our best to teach what we know to students hoping they will get inspired to continue what they learned and help them grow more.

If you have to ask me why would you want to join a community like ours, I’ll give you this answer below:

“No one’s getting paid to volunteer, no one’s even forcing you to do it but when you do share your time volunteering, it most definitely won’t go to waste as you get to experience things way outside of your comfort zone - be it teaching, speaking, dealing with people, or leadership, and/or those doing things not being taught in your school or company you’re in.”

You can also add “networking”, “growth”, “cooperation” and a whole lot more. :)

You think we’re too serious, eh? Join us and prove it yourself

Organizers and volunteers bonding moments! :)

I want to close this article by saying thank you so much for all the people who were part of our journey. Special thanks to our current active volunteers, you know who you are. :)

If you’ve reached this far, thank you for reading and welcome to Laravel Cebu Community Organization! Keep learning artisan…

--

--