Holiday Cookies Too Beautiful To Eat

Jenny Nelson
Lark & Olive
Published in
1 min readDec 12, 2016

Every year before the annual cookie exchange party I attend at the house of a slightly less popular blogger/mother, I make ten or forty dozen royally iced cookies, and for what? Just to be thrown out after my blogger/mother friend takes pictures, because the cookies are full of (the bad kind of) calories and the icing contains several toxic ingredients that are deadly to even smell?

Well, readers, the problem has been solved. For this weekend’s cookie exchange party, I made my holiday treats out of…wait for it…expertly folded cardstock! Armed with nothing but very top-notch, wedding-grade parchment and my (figurative) MFA in Western Origami, I created the most beautiful trees, ice skates, and Santa’smen. My cardstock creations looked even better than the real thing!

It was, of course, a disappointment when Charla still threw them all in her marble trash bin upon my arrival, but it’s all in a (holi)day’s work, isn’t that right?

--

--