Let (Some of) Them Eat Cupcakes

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2016

It’s that time of year where the leaves are falling, the air is crisp, and the kids constantly need baked goods for school. Now don’t get me wrong, I love baking — it’s the reason I had a child. My husband is a diabetic and can’t eat sweets so for a while, I was baking and immediately composting the treats.

When my son asked me if I could make cupcakes for his class’ fall party, I said “por supuesto, mon amour” (My house is tri-lingual.) As I browsed vegan cupcake recipes, I decided I was going to do something different this time. I decided not to make cupcakes for the 32 kids in his class but to instead, make 7. Here’s why: I didn’t want to make 32 cupcakes. I thought to myself, ohh I don’t want to make 32 cupcakes. I would much rather make 7 cupcakes. So I did. I made 7 beautiful cupcakes. Every student in my son’s class will not get one. Most won’t. But I got an extra hour of sleep, and self-care is equal parts necessary and needed (for more on this, see my post: Caring For Yourself With Self-Care.) I’m going to try to do this more for myself. Lean in and say “yes” when I want something, say “no” when I don’t and confidently say “self care above child care” when I need some sleep. I made 7 cupcakes. And that was perfect amount.

EDITOR’S NOTE: The teacher was furious and the cupcakes were not distributed

--

--

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive

I do comedy in NYC but moved home for the past year to live with my dying dad. Since tragedy + time = comedy, I’m writing about my loss in that time.