Neither a Trick or a Treat

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2016

I’m not giving out candy for Halloween this year.

That’s right. I’m not giving out candy for Halloween this year.

I know what you’re thinking: “Wow, you are brave” & “I admire you.” But for those of you who are thinking that I am a true monster this Halloween, I’ll tell you why I’ve decided to do this. In my family, we all act as a team. When one of us is hurting (I’m never hurting), we are all hurting. When one of us is happy (I have two traditionally beautiful children, what strangers have called “perfect” bone structure and am married to a Kennedy so I’m always happy), we are all happy. And when one of us lives life on a no sugar, no carb, no meat, no dairy, no grain, no soy, no banana, no pea, no spices, no processed food diet, we all live on on a no sugar, no carb, no meat, no dairy, no grain, no soy, no banana, no pea, no spices, no processed food diet.

So this Halloween when kids come to my second, four-story winter home, they will each receive a handful of carrots and a smile. They may leave wildly disappointed but they will learn an important lesson: maintaining an unhealthily low weight tastes remarkably better than a Kit-Kat. Also, teamwork.

Happy Halloween!

--

--

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive

I do comedy in NYC but moved home for the past year to live with my dying dad. Since tragedy + time = comedy, I’m writing about my loss in that time.