The Power of Routines

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2016
img via HuffPo

We’ve all been there. I think you can guess where. No, not Juice Press. I’m talking about those days where you skip the gym, you forget to say your daily mantra of “there is no evil in the world,” or you eat store bought oats instead of overnight oats. I’m talking about days where you fall out of your routine. It’s not your fault. Life can be hard (it hasn’t been for me yet but I can certainly imagine!) Routines are as hard to stick to as my husband to me at a party but they are so important. Important. I love that word. They are important because you are important. Sticking to a routine can make your already gorgeous days even sunnier. It has been hard work but for me, I’ve found that carving out little routines just for me really help me feel grounded and wealthy. Without adhering to these routines, I just feel wealthy. So here they are:

1. Wake up

2. Drink water

3. Eat food

4. Relax

5. Go to bed

By really committing and sticking to these routines, or as I call them, “promises to myself,” I always go to bed feeling happier than the day my uncle gave me more bars of gold than I could fit in my Lamborghini Veneno. Now it’s not easy, sticking to these routines takes work but ladies, Susan B. Anthony didn’t die for nothing. So let’s stick together, let’s commit to our routines, and let’s make tomorrow an even better day than today.

This post was originally published September 11th, 2001.

--

--

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive

I do comedy in NYC but moved home for the past year to live with my dying dad. Since tragedy + time = comedy, I’m writing about my loss in that time.