The S Word

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2016

Let’s talk about it. So ever since I was a teenager, people have been talking about sex. It’s what I did with my husband on our wedding night, it’s what I did to create my gorgeous children and it’s what I do to pretend I’m having an orgasm. But recently, I started hearing people talk about having sex for fun with their husbands. I even read an article about it in the New York Times. The article talked about how when people had sex for fun, they had a “glow” that followed them all day and they felt “energized and loved.” If I could pick three words to describe me, it would be “glowing, energized and loved.” So when I read this article over my weekend away in Honolulu, I thought to myself “wow, I should definitely try this out.” But like anything in life, it’s so easy to say that there’s always tomorrow and I never quite got around to it. So I am saying it out loud so that I may be held accountable for it. I want to give just for fun sex a try and see if what everyone is talking about is really all it’s cracked up to be.

I know it’s not something we usually talk about here and it is certainly taboo but my question for you guys is, “are you having sex for fun?” Sound off in the comments if you feel comfortable sharing!

--

--

Alyssa Limperis
Lark & Olive

I do comedy in NYC but moved home for the past year to live with my dying dad. Since tragedy + time = comedy, I’m writing about my loss in that time.