The Trick To Keeping Plants Alive

Kady Ruth Ashcraft
Lark & Olive
Published in
1 min readDec 8, 2016

I don’t know about you all, but I have what must be the opposite of a green thumb. (A purple thumb! Ha! I did take art theory classes!) But in all seriousness I kill absolutely every plant I touch. My mother even said to me, “it’s a surprise you didn’t kill the bouquet half way down the aisle!” LOL!

I decided this year, however, that I will purchase succulents and ferns and not fear for their lives! And no, the answer isn’t buying fake plants (I wish! But that is tacky and I think tends to look like you are poor…) Instead, this time around, I’ve decided to really research what each plant needs to keep alive. That’s the trick! Learn what type of plant each plant is and learn what they need in order to survive! Not all plants need direct light or water every day! As soon as I figured that out, I became so much more confident going forward as a new plant mama!

How about you? Do you have things in your life you routinely kill?

--

--

Kady Ruth Ashcraft
Lark & Olive

Writer/Comedian/Comedy Writer! @thehairpin @lark-olive. Has new bangs.