What Are Your Holiday Traditions?

Kady Ruth Ashcraft
Lark & Olive
Published in
1 min readNov 29, 2016

I can hardly believe it’s already the holidays. And soon after the holidays it’ll be Christmas, and then New Years! My sweet little family has a yearly tradition that warms my heart, literally!

The night before Christmas, we gather around the tree and each one of us get to decide on their signature scent for the following year. Then we go online and order a year’s supply of that scent for one other. It’s a nice way of saying to one another, “I love you, I love your smell, you matter to me.”

And even though it is a tradition, it isn’t without surprises! One year the littlest requested that his scent for the upcoming year be “Carrots.” “Carrots?!” we all laughed. He doubled down! So sure enough I logged onto my iPad and found a nectarine carrot balm from the Maldives and had a load of it shipped that night. Another year my aging mother, in her forgetfulness, requested the same scent as the year before. It’s always so silly and fun, but very special to our family.

What about you? What are your scents for 2017?

--

--

Kady Ruth Ashcraft
Lark & Olive

Writer/Comedian/Comedy Writer! @thehairpin @lark-olive. Has new bangs.