When Faking It Is Okay

Jenny Nelson
Lark & Olive
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2016

The other evening, I was making love to my love (still crazy about each other even after all these years, can you believe it!) and my darling 72-month-old walked in. What would you do here, wives? How about you, husbands?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m trying to be sex positive in the upbringing of my two toddlers. That means stashing my “toys” with their “toys”, inserting my duchess cup while in the shared open-air demi-boudoir, and doing my best to demonstrate that a woman’s pleasure is the most important part of…ahem…intercourse.

And so that’s why, in that moment and in most moments, I faked it. To teach my son that the woman’s orgasm is important. I may not have reached climax in that moment, but as far as my son is concerned, I did. And sex is about your children, remember? It’s the whole reason they’re here in the first place.

--

--