5 Books Every Professional Millennial Should Read

Larry G.
LarryG.co
Published in
5 min readNov 26, 2018

If you consider yourself a professional millennial, you may recognize the power of books and reading. You know that there is power in the written word, and there are helpful trade secrets revealed in those words. If you’re looking for the secrets to success in business, I don’t have them, but here are a few books that I’ve read that completely changed my mindset and I believe will be completely beneficial to any professional millennial.

  1. Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It
  2. Crush It!: Why Now is the Time to Cash in On Your Passion
  3. How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life
  4. Act Like a Success, Think Like a Success: Discovering Your Gift and the Way to Life’s Riches
  5. Your One Word: The Powerful Secret to Creating a Business and Life that Matter

Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It

This book is the life and story of co-host, (not)comedian, and entertainer, Charlamagne tha god. He documents important life stories steming from his childhood all the way to his now successful career as a co-host on the famous radio show, the Breakfast Club. Charlamagne details life lessons and gives great insight into things many people go through like getting fired, being yourself, and learning to embrace your strengths. I’ve listened to this book a few times, and each time I learn something new and get a great takeaway to apply to my life.

Crush It!: Why Now is the Time to Cash in On Your Passion

One of the things that helped gain Gary Vaynerchuk a place in the realm of successful entrepreneurs is this book. It’s how many people discovered Gary and realized that the once “wine guy” actually knew what he was talking about when it came to business. Several other successful business owners sight this book as the turning point of their career. I’ll admit, Gary isn’t for everyone. He swears a lot and tells it like it is. He’s loud and sometimes obnoxious, but the man knows a lot about business. He knows a lot about selling. And he knows a lot about harnessing the power of the internet to succeed. Even though this book is a little dated, it still hold valuable principles to success online and I highly recommend anyone interested in learning about the online world to pick it up.

How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life

I found Lily like most people found Lily, through a YouTube video. She’s smart, funny, charismatic and the list goes on. What you might not know is how business savvy Lily is. While this book isn’t exactly a business book, Lily tells some valuable business stories and lessons one could only tell once a certain level of success is obtained. Lily also gives some great advice for conquering and overcoming personal life issues. She tackles things like self-doubt, anxiety, depression, goal setting, and much more. Lily is completely relatable and hits the sweet spot in age to where you know she’s not just talking about things that are too far away to actually remember what it was like.

Act Like a Success, Think Like a Success: Discovering Your Gift and the Way to Life’s Riches

My man Steve Harvey, an original king of comedy, tv host and personality, wrote this book and it is by far one of my favorites on this list. As a professional millennial, I am constantly striving for success. I dream of it. I want it. I watch YouTube videos, read books, and structure my life around things that will make me successful. In this book, Steve talks about discovering his gift, nurturing that gift, allowing others to turn him away from his dreams and finally reclaiming them. He talks about the things everyone who wants success struggles with: dealing with the thoughts of others, self-doubt, self-reliance, and more. This book helped me acknowledge the way I think about certain things and put them into perspective. After reading this, my dreams and goals were given a revival, and it’s one book I plan to re-read when the road gets rough.

Your One Word: The Powerful Secret to Creating a Business and Life that Matter

I never knew I knew who Evan Carmichael was. Let me explain. I watch a lot of YouTube videos. One day, I completely binge watched some videos that were about successful people, their habits, and things that they believe. The videos were compilations of clips from different interviews, and they drew me in like stereotypical white girls to pumpkin spice in October. I had no idea that Evan was the man facilitating the videos. It was his channel that I had been sucked into and I was none the wiser. Needless to say, this book is fantastic for figuring out your purpose. It’s filled with stories of successful business owners discovering their purpose in business and using that purpose to propel their businesses and careers. This book helped me identify what I’m good at and it played a huge part in my wanting to start this blog in the first place. If you’ve already started something but need to re-discover or hone your purpose, this book is a great place to start.

This post was proofread by Grammarly

Photo by iam Se7en on Unsplash

Originally published at https://www.thepromillennial.com on November 26, 2018.

--

--

Larry G.
LarryG.co

Photographer | Writer specializing in portrait, editorial, and fine art. My personal work focuses on documenting overlooked moments of everyday life.