A Morning Workout is Better for Professional Millennials

Larry G.
LarryG.co
Published in
4 min readDec 24, 2018

If society has us pegged right, then millennials are all about eating healthier. *Reads headline about Millennials loving avacado toast* However, the term is diet AND exercise.

I, for one, love to exercise. It makes me feel better. It does give me energy. And who doesn’t love to see themselves get stronger and body change shape?

I know that finding the time workout isn’t always exactly the easiest thing to do, especially as a professional millennial. But if you give me a chance, I’ll explain to you why working out in the morning is better for you. I’ll break it down into personal reasons and then give you actual facts.

My Reasons

Sense of Accomplishment

The first reason to workout in the morning is the immediate satisfaction of overcoming a challenge and feeling a sense of accomplishment. When I workout first thing in the morning, I feel like I can do anything.

I’ve already won the battle with myself to get out bed early. I’ve won the battle of starting the day by moving my body. There’s literally nothing like feeling like you’ve won before you do anything else for the day.

Time of Day

I’m the type of person who goes to the gym to workout. I don’t want to hang out and talk to people. I don’t want to wait for weights or machines. I’m there to work on my body, and working out in the morning basically assures that there will be few to no people in the gym.

I don’t have to worry about people interrupting my workout. There’s no waiting for machines or weights. I get in and get out all before most people wake up. It’s beautiful.

Forces Focus

If I make it to the gym in the morning, I’m completely focused on my workout. Nothing else has happened for me to dwell on. If I waited until after work to workout, I may get distracted by things that have happened or social media.

By getting into the gym early in the morning, literally, nothing has happened in the world. There are no trending headlines because everyone is asleep. When you can focus on your workout, you perform the exercises better, which allows for better results.

Actual Health Benefits

Burns More Calories

When you workout first thing in the morning, it has been proven to burn more calories. If you wake up and head straight to the gym you’re working out on an empty stomach which helps you burn more calories. If you add something like a HIIT workout set to this formula, you’ll bascially melt off calories at a pace you wouldn’t believe.

Better Sleep

It has been proven that if you workout in the morning, you’re more likely to be tired at night, thus giving you a better deeper sleep. This I can account for.

Working out in the morning forces me to wake up earlier so that I can make it to work on time. This means that my day is longer than a normal day. I’m also putting stress on my body first thing in the morning. Yes it gives me a boost of energy, but by staying active and awake the rest of the day, my body is actually tired when the sun goes down.

Since I’m actually tired at night, I go to bed earlier. Going to bed earlier allows me to get those precious hours of sleep, and since my body was craving it, I fall into a deeper and better sleep.

Feeling Better

I’ve already mentioned this one, but it’s backed up by science. Working out in general makes you feel better. However, working out in the morning will really make you feel better.

You’ll feel better about yourself. You’ll feel better about your day. There will actually be a chemical reaction in your brain that makes you feel better because you worked out in the morning.

Get To It

It’s no secret that I’m an advocate of a morning workout. Waking up early has always worked for me. It’s the thing that makes the most sense for me. I implore everyone to at least try it.

I know that everyone is different and there are things that get in the way. I also know that working out first thing in the morning has had a great impact on my life and I wanted to share my success with you.

If you try working out in the morning, let me know. I’d love to hear your story!

Reference: https://makeyourbodywork.com/benefits-of-morning-exercise/

Originally published at https://www.thepromillennial.com on December 24, 2018.

--

--

Larry G.
LarryG.co

Photographer | Writer specializing in portrait, editorial, and fine art. My personal work focuses on documenting overlooked moments of everyday life.