How a Random YouTube Video Convinced Me to Launch This Blog

Larry G.
LarryG.co
Published in
3 min readNov 17, 2018

I’ve Always Been a Writer

Blogging isn’t exactly new to me. I’ve been writing stories since I was a little kid, and once I discovered the vast world that is the internet, I knew that my writing would never be the same. I started several blogs, mostly about my life, that went nowhere or fell flat. I’ve owned domains, done tons of research, but none of those ideas really stuck. Hell, who actually knows if this idea is going to stick? All I know is, one day while falling down the rabbit hole that is YouTube I stumbled upon a channel that changed my view on content and content creation, The Financial Diet.

The Financial Diet, Found

For those of you who don’t know, The Financial Diet is a blog turned YouTube channel that talks about all things, you guessed it, Financial. There are other topics like work life, school life, personaI travel, etc., but most of it is centered around something to do with finances. It’s run by Chelsea and Lauren and it’s probably one of the most efficient and seamless YouTube channel/blog hybrid things I’ve ever seen. Feel free to check them out. The way their content smoothly transitions from written word to on screen video is nothing short of a ton of time and hard work, and I must say, it’s working for them. I have now spent what I can only assume to be hours diving into their content and watching what they do. To be honest, I don’t remember the exact piece of content that hooked me, but I do know that consuming and observing their content sparked something within me.

Shifting Gears And Shifting My Mindset

Maybe I should back up a little. Since late 2016 I have been working on growing my photography business and have essentially shifted and developed my personal brand around photo and video. I’ve gone from that kid that was obsessed with music to the photographer, videographer and somewhat graphic designer. While all of these things accurately describe what I’m currently perceived as, I wanted more. Like I said in the beginning, I’ve always been a writer. I’ve just never been experienced enough in anything to consistently write about it, until now.

Documenting What You Know

It seems like every other socio-economic headline is talking about millennials and how they are changing the basis of everything. I’ve seen headlines and read articles about how millennials are ruining society, and changing culture, but then I thought, isn’t that what we’re supposed to do? I’ll save that article for another day. My point was, I’m a working class millennial in a tech/creative field with a few years under my belt. I could follow Gary Vee’s advice and document my professional journey. I could talk about things within the workforce from my point of view. Once I reach the pinnacle of my career, I will have hopefully documented my journey for all to follow, learn from and enjoy.

Don’t Just Listen. Watch and Do

Stumbling upon The Financial Diet was probably one of the best things creatively that’s happened recently. I know that I was drawn in to their YouTube videos by the title, thumbnail and video duration. The amount of value that was provided in that short 6–7 minute video blew me away and drove me to subscribe and keep watching. I learned from Gary to watch what successful people do and not just listen to what they say. Upon doing more research and self reflection, I decided that I could document my journey just as the women of The Financial Diet had. I was inspired. With lots of patience, time and effort, I know that this blog could be successful, and I hope you stick around to find out.

I’d love to hear your opinion of The Financial Diet or what inspires you to do what you do in the comments down below!

Originally published at https://www.thepromillennial.com on November 17, 2018.

--

--

Larry G.
LarryG.co

Photographer | Writer specializing in portrait, editorial, and fine art. My personal work focuses on documenting overlooked moments of everyday life.