Millennial Moments #3

Larry G.
LarryG.co
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2019

Let me start by saying Happy New Year to all you lovely folks. I truly hope that you take advantage of this time of year and really get yourself in order. Make the changes you want and do the things you want. Know that we’re all trying to become better versions of ourselves.

This week, I’m sharing a video about portraits, an article about money, and a website that will help you creatively. All of which I found pretty interesting and helpful. Hopefully you will as well.

Taking Interesting Self Portraits

I’ve been following T- Wentt on Instagram for a while now. I fell in love with his photos and he kept me coming back with his captions. So when he created this video about self portaits, I just had to watch.

This video is full of tips and tricks to help you not only take great self but portraits in general, especially if you’re into photography. If it moves you, check it out and let him know I sent you.

How to Use a Household Ledger To Give Your Financial Life a Fresh Start This Year

Here we go! I told you guys that this blog is heavily influenced by The Financial Diet. Here’s another great article that was featured on their website about using a household ledger.

Personally, I have no experience using a household ledger, but I found the concepts in this article interesting enough to share with you all. I may decide to try this this year.

However, since it is the start of a new year, I thought I would share a practical tip that we could all learn from. It’s a smooth read and has great information. If you do decide to try it, let me know down below.

Adobe Spark

If you’re interested in how I created a lot of the assets for this site and social media assets related to this site, the answer is Adobe Spark.

Adobe spark is one of the most basic graphics editors out there. It uses Adobe’s powerful software and tools to create stunning visuals for almost any purpose.

Although I know how to use Photoshop and could create my own graphics, using the built in templates are a great way to create quality graphics quickly. Because it’s powered by Adobe, the seamless connection to my Lightroom account makes using this tool more beneficial.

If you want to get started with Adobe products and want to test drive the capability, I suggest starting with Spark.

You Are a BadAss

I haven't finished it yet so I don’t want to give my full opinion, but I’ve started reading You are a Badass by Jen Sincero. It’s everything you expect it to be and more. It’s witty, funny, and inspirational.

Jen’s style of writing is very matter of fact which is something I enjoy. If you want a self-help book that’s very aware of its self help-ness, check it out.

Also, let me know if you want a full review once I’m done reading it. I might give one anyway, but it would be nice to know that you are interested.

That’s all I have for this week. Let me know if you enjoy this or learned something. I’d love to hear your feedback.

Originally published at https://www.thepromillennial.com on January 4, 2019.

--

--

Larry G.
LarryG.co

Photographer | Writer specializing in portrait, editorial, and fine art. My personal work focuses on documenting overlooked moments of everyday life.