The Art of my Pivot

Larry G.
LarryG.co
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2019

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

From sports to creative outlets to that iconic scene from “FRIENDS” almost everyone knows the word pivot. While that scene is hilarious and I and my fiance laugh every time we watch it, that word sticks with me.

What’s a Pivot?

A pivot is defined as “a pin, point, or short shaft on the end of which something rests and turns, or upon and about which something rotates or oscillates.” While the act of pivoting is “to turn on or as on a pivot”

Basically, it means to change direction, but not in a 180-degree manner. Rather, it means more of altering your direction. To change course so that you’re able to maneuver more efficiently.

Many successful entrepreneurs and business men and women understand the importance of the pivot. Pivoting can make or break a sale and even save a business. Failing to pivot can have the adverse effect depending on the circumstances.

In sports like basketball, football, or baseball, learning to pivot is essential. I can’t tell you how many times I had a basketball coach yell “PIVOT” at me. It’s a basic skill to help you move and see an opening on the court. In football, it will help you shake and lose defenders.

Why are we talking pivots?

OK, so now that I’ve given you some background and completely seemingly unnecessary information about pivoting, I’d like to announce that I too am making a pivot. The Pro Millennial will be adopting several new categories as it will become my personal brand.

But wasn’t it always your personal brand?

Yes and no. The original goal of TPM was to eventually have contributors and make it more of a magazine. To kick things off, I wrote most of the articles with the idea of treating myself as a contributor rather than the sole author. However, after several months of writing and life happenings, I’ve decided to hold off on the magazine idea…for now, and to keep TPM for myself as an outlet for longer thought pieces than that of Instagram.

So is anything really changing?

Yes! I’m going to start branding TPM as more of a personal blog rather than just generic. I’ll add a little more of my personality into the blog, not just the posts, and there will most likely be more posts that don’t center around the 4 core topics I originally planned to go with. There will also probably be way more lifestyle content than anything else.

But what about ItsLarryG Creations?

That’s a wonderful question. ILGC is my creative services business. I spent the last 2–3 years working on and building that business, but it’s exactly that, a business. Yes, I put myself into the business and it is named after me, but it’s not the only thing that I am. I am multifaceted. I also felt like the business needs to be focused. How will I get clients if I’m posting everything under the sun?

Going Forward

After several weeks of trying to come up with a strategy to stretch my creative legs, I’ve landed on this move. Will it work? Will I regret this decision? Will I change my mind? Find out next time on Dragonball Z! Jk! But to be honest, I don’t know if this is the right move or not. I just know that I love blogging AND a bunch of other stuff and if I’m building a personal brand, why not hijack the one that I kinda already started.

So buckle up buttercups, this professional millennial is about to take you on an interesting multifaceted ride. I hope you’ll stick around.

Originally published at https://www.thepromillennial.com on March 8, 2019.

--

--

Larry G.
LarryG.co

Photographer | Writer specializing in portrait, editorial, and fine art. My personal work focuses on documenting overlooked moments of everyday life.