Remember Your Roots

Dominique McKee
Last Draft /Stories
1 min readJul 12, 2020

These petty ego negotiations
Like small weeds blowing in the wind
At the base of my thick wooden trunk
They are nothing to me
Nothing compared to
My roots going down for miles beneath the earth
Until they reach the water so deep so sweet ..so waiting for me
The sun pouring itself over me
Craning my neck back to take it all in
Branches and leaves
Unfurl, outstretch
Ever reaching
Until I almost fall back at the weight and height and size of it all
Of this love and its warmth
my complete supplication to it
And the soft remembrance that rests just over me and whispers
You are safe.

A poetry-loving philosopher and working as a Youth Work and Career Coach at Conestoga College, Dominique McKee lives for good conversation, best enjoyed with a glass of red wine.

If you liked this piece, please show your appreciation by “clapping” on the hands’ icon below. Thank you!

If you’re interested in keeping up with what we’re doing at The Last Draft or Last Draft Inc., follow us on, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and YouTube.

--

--