Obama For Creatives

Father Bronques
The Mystery School
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2020

Dear Creatives,

I got a letter from Obama this week. (I’m on his mailing list.)

Listen to this first paragraph.

It sounds like he wrote it especially for creatives:

===

Hi friends,

A crisis has a way of sharpening our focus.

Part of this is human. When we suffer a loss or become sick we take stock of what’s essential. We appreciate the parts of our lives that maybe we took for granted. We revisit our values and our relationships, and we think about what we’d do if we had another chance; if we had more time. Crises force us to reflect.

(etc.)

===

It reminds me of how most of my new clients (artists and creative brands) seem to reach out to me when they’re at the same crossroad:

They have a ‘life moment’ that finally shakes them out of years of sleepwalking.

Models are the same too. Like, right after a break-up.

The conversation usually starts with phrases like “I’m ready now,” or they tell me they want “to shake things up.”

The amount of times I’ve heard these words is enough to make me wanna scream into my Godchild’s ‘Black Panther’ pillow.

I’m always happy to help, of course. Shake things up is what I love to do.

But what sucks is thinking about all the months that were pissed away copying others. Or worse — Procrastinating. Or the all-time classic: “Overthinking”.

All because nothing had forced their hand yet.

All because… They hadn’t been straightened into attention yet — by all the probing questions from their 8-year-old niece after watching an episode of ‘The Last Dance’ with her one Sunday.

But believe it or not.

There IS a small group of renegades that don’t wait until an existential crisis to act.

Don’t get me wrong. These renegades get off track like everyone else.

And they get swayed by distraction, like everyone else.

But all they need from time to time is a little reminder:

1. That the clock is ticking.

2. That they’re blessed, and they should use their advantages while they have them.

3. That big actions don’t lead to the biggest results… It’s the small, consistent actions that do.

And once they get that little reminder…

They start moving again.

No crisis needed.

So, if that’s you… If you’re part of this small percentage of artists or creative brand owners who only need a nudge once in a while to WAKE THE FCK UP…

Consider this your reminder.

Father Bronques

--

--