Thanks!

Michael Zsigmond
Keep
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2020

This post is meant for Keep users and will appear on the Discover tab of the app.

First off, thank you for trying Keep! I really appreciate it.

A few days ago, Ryan Christoffel at MacStories posted a really nice (unsolicited) review of Keep. My downloads and traffic spiked. It was a total surprise and I was really happy to know that someone out there finds value in the app. That it happened to be a writer from MacStories was icing on the cake that helped drive more downloads in one day than ever before.

Keep has a pretty small user-base and I built the iOS app, web app, and backend on my own. There are no other developers involved in Keep. It’s just me. I used to shy away from this fact as I wanted to project the image of a ‘team’ behind the app. This was a mistake. I’m also not a developer by background. I taught myself to code much later in life than most…This isn’t really relevant, except to hope that users might be a tiny bit more forgiving when things don’t go right…

With the spike in downloads from the MacStories article, I’ve been made aware of a few bugs and have also received some great feedback on how to make the experience better.

I am working on getting bugs fixed and I appreciate your patience. A few people have reported that trying to listen to audio articles causes the app to crash. I’m aware of the bug and it’s proving pretty elusive to track down. In all cases, deleting the app and re-installing it solved the problem. Sorry for this workaround. I do intend to get the bug fixed.

Ryan’s article also mentions a few shortcomings of the app. Perhaps more than a few 😳. Two shortcomings mentioned are the inability to add tags to bookmarks in bulk and the inability to rename a tag. I’ve been working on both features over the past couple of days and nearly ready to submit an update to the app store. This will be out very soon. Here’s a video:

New features — Add tags in bulk, rename tags

Thanks again to everyone who took the time to give Keep a try.

Update 5/30:

You’ll soon be able to add tags to a link when you save it with the iOS app extension. Either tap the ‘add tags’ button or simply wait for the modal to dismiss automatically if you prefer to add tags later:

--

--

Michael Zsigmond
Keep
Editor for

Product Manager @Pay_By_Phone, @queensu MBA and an all-around pretty good guy (most of the time).