Tus manos son mi caricia — Mario Benedetti

alexwh
Latin American Literature
3 min readMar 31, 2020

Sunday, March 29, 2020

Fotografías — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

Al fijarme en los desnudos que le hice a Joanne Chabot (su seudónimo) me vino la idea de enfocar en la gracia de sus manos. Es evidente que Chabot como la chica del mismo nombre ya olvidada del Ballet de la Opera de Paris tiene la sangre de la bailarina en sus venas.

Upon reviewing the nudes I once took of Joanne Chabot (not her real name) I had the idea of focusing on her graceful hands. It is obvious that Joanne Chabot and her namesake, a forgotten ballerina of the 19th century Paris Opera Ballet, have dancers’ blood running in their veins.

I Love You (English translation below)

te quiero porque tus manos

trabajan por la justicia.

Si te quiero es porque sos

mi amor mi cómplice y todo

y en la calle codo a codo

somos mucho más que dos.

que mira y siembra futuro.

Tu boca que es tuya y mía

Si te quiero es porque sos

y todo y en la calle codo a codo

somos mucho más que dos.

porque sos pueblo te quiero.

Y porque amor no es aureola

que sabe que no está sola.

aunque no tenga permiso.

Si te quiero es porque sos

mi amor mi cómplice y todo

y en la calle codo a codo

somos mucho más que dos…

I love you because your hands

if I love you it’s because you are

my love my accomplice and my everything

and in the street arm in arm

we are many more than two

that looks and plants the future

your mouth that is yours and mine

I love you because your mouth

knows how to shout rebellion

if I love you it’s because you are

my love my accomplice and my everything

and in the street arm in arm

we are many more than two

and your wanderer’s footstep

and your weeping for the world

because you are of the people I love you.

and because love is not a halo

and because we are a couple

that knows it is not alone

I love you in my paradise

which is to say that in my ideal country

without even having permission

if I love you it’s because you are

my love my accomplice and my everything

and in the street arm in arm

we are many more than two

Originally published at http://blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Latin American Literature

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net