Building Power Through Thought Leadership

Carmen Scurato
Latinx Mic
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2018

“If you say something of consequence, there may be consequences. The alternative is to be inconsequential.” -The OpEd Project

A week ago, I helped coordinate a cohort of Google’s Next Gen Policy Leaders- a select group of diverse individuals who have demonstrated expertise in issues related to social justice, tech policy, entrepreneurship, and media — to come together to experience The OpEd Project training. The OpEd Project’s trainings are designed to tap into an individual’s unique expertise and provide the skills necessary to shape public opinion on pressing issues facing our society. I am hopeful that this experience will leave those that attended the training inspired to create change, the same way that I was inspired after my experience with the OpEd Project.

Next Gens and OpEd Project Facilitators Mary Curtis and Michelle Mulligan

How I Learn About the OpEd Project

I learned about the OpEd Project through a group of individuals interested in discussing the implications big data on innovation and how to drive equity-centered solutions for some of society’s most pressing problems. My experience with the OpEd Project was made possible through an ARCHE (Allies for Reaching Communities Health Equity) Fellowship with the Center for Global Policy Solutions. I attended the trainings and soon found out that that the majority of my fellows focused on health equity- advocating for positive health outcomes for people of color and marginalized communities.

To rewind a bit, prior to my trainings- I had not written an opinion piece. And honestly, the thought never crossed my mind. I went to law school and learned now to write memos, legal filings, letters- and that’s what I had been writing since- not opinion pieces. Mary Curtis and Michelle Mulligan facilitated my training, and they helped me build the confidence to write these pieces. Confidence is power, and power translates into the ability to make change.

Paying It Forward

Not only did the OpEd Project change the way I thought about myself and the issues that I tackle through work- it would also inspire me to bring this same transformative experience to others. That was made possible through the Google Next Gen program and the collaborative efforts of two other ARCHE OpEd Project alums, Christy Hines and Jason Resendez. If you’re interested in a joining a training or seminar, you can find out more on the OpEd Project’s website.

What do you stand for?

Mary and Michelle facilitated the training last week and Next Gens were asked to discuss expertise, learned about using news hooks, the structure of an opinion pieces, and how to translate expertise to broader issues and audiences. The Next Gens were asked to reflect on the question: what do you stand for? The results of that question alone demonstrate the diversity of the thought leaders in the room.

Writing Now to Create Our Future

This is just the beginning and I am confident that others will be just as inspired to make their voices heard.

Because if you don’t speak up, then who will?

--

--

Carmen Scurato
Latinx Mic

VP, Policy & General Counsel for the National Hispanic Media Coalition. I work to ensure that Latinos have affordable & open access to communications.