Navigating Global Operations

Thaisa Fernandes
Latinx In Power
Published in
9 min readJul 2, 2024

Based on an episode with Yesenia Monroy 🇸🇻

Welcome to Latinx in Power, a podcast aiming to help to demystify tech, the way we do that is by interviewing Latinx leaders all over the world to hear their perspective and insights.

We talked with Yesenia Monroy (she/her), an accomplished Global Client Experience leader with expertise in cultivating high-performing teams, optimizing technology, and driving progressive operational efficiencies.

In this episode, Yesenia shared insights on her connection with Central America, her professional journey, and the influence of her cultural background on her leadership style. We’ll also discuss navigating cultural nuances within different teams and preparing for future trends in global operations.

Subscribe to Latinx in Power!

Apple | Google | Spotify | TuneIn | Stitcher | Deezer | PocketCasts

What does it mean to be a Latina for you?

Hello, everyone. My name is Yesenia Monroy. I am currently a Senior Director for Global Operations at a data technology company. I am a first-generation Central American from El Salvador, as both my parents were born there. Coincidentally, I just visited El Salvador for the second time last week, which was really exciting.

Being a Latina means having a strong connection to my culture. It signifies a deep connection to shared heritage, language, customs, and, most importantly for me, values. Growing up, my Central American parents instilled values of work ethic, religion, and how to be a good human being. Being Latina means a lot to me, as it allows me to incorporate these values into both my professional and personal life.

Can you provide a brief overview of your professional journey?

Very early on, my dad came to the States as a teenager and became an entrepreneur. He instilled a strong sense of responsibility in me and our entire family from a young age, for which I am very thankful. This sense of responsibility has greatly influenced my professional career.

When I was in college, I initially thought I wanted to be a psychologist. However, due to my upbringing and my dad’s entrepreneurial influence, I quickly shifted to business. I started my career as a leader in the insurance industry, specifically at 21st Century Insurance, which was acquired by AIG. I was one of the first key leaders to introduce bilingual customer support teams and set a footprint in the Latino market.

I then pivoted to technology, taking on leadership roles at Intuit, a SaaS company, where I ran operation teams. My interest in business led me to transition to the fintech space, where I built technical and operation teams from the ground up. It was important for me to introduce and share the Latino perspective.

Finally, I moved to the data technology space for e-commerce. Throughout my career, despite working in different industries, I have always been passionate about building teams, meeting people where they are, and helping them achieve their goals.

How has your cultural background influenced your approach to leadership and global operations?

In full transparency, representation in leadership roles is typically between 1% to 3%. As a Latina woman of color, it wasn’t easy; I had to continuously prove myself in the beginning. Fortunately, I was surrounded by leaders who valued my work ethic, skillset, and capabilities, regardless of my nationality. This support helped me establish my “board of directors” early on, which is critical for anyone listening. These advocates and supporters were essential.

Back in 2000–2003, many businesses didn’t fully understand the purchasing power of the Latino community. I was fortunate to partner with another Latina leader at the insurance company. Together, we built proposals and business cases to establish a footprint in the Latino community, which proved highly successful.

I often participate in panel discussions with other first and second-generation individuals, each with unique journeys. Reflecting on my own, I recall a summer job interview in high school where the interviewer expressed surprise at my English proficiency. Born in California, I was puzzled by the stereotype that as a Latina, I wouldn’t speak English well. These experiences highlight the misunderstandings and stereotypes about first-generation and Latina individuals.

Fortunately, these experiences were few. Hard work and demonstrating my skills often outshined these stereotypes. I’m vocal about who we are, our intentions, and raising awareness for those who may not understand, sometimes due to unintentional biases.

What is your experience as a Latina serving in the role of Senior Director of Global Operations?

I’m very fortunate because I have the opportunity to be a leader in the global operations space. This role allows me to interact with different cultures and backgrounds. Currently, in the organization I work for, we are a global company with team members from the United States, IIndia, the Philippines, the EMEA region, and APAC. Being a Latina has truly helped me in this role. As a senior leader, I’m often part of the 1% representation, which I take pride in because it allows me to bring different perspectives to the table.

When I’m managing global teams, my emotional intelligence helps me understand diverse cultures and needs. While we are all human beings, our upbringing and culture shape us both personally and professionally. This understanding is crucial in how we show up at work. As a global leader, I have the opportunity to share these different perspectives and bridge gaps for those who may not be as exposed to various cultural backgrounds.

How do you navigate cultural nuances and diversity within your global operations team?

For any leaders or aspiring leaders interested in establishing a presence in international markets, it is essential to do thorough research. This research should not only focus on the business aspects but also on cultural perspectives and the resources and workforce you will be incorporating into your organization.

Understanding different cultures is crucial because what motivates people can vary significantly. Being mindful and respectful of different customs and open to celebrating various ethnicities and cultural backgrounds can greatly enhance professional relationships. When minority groups feel seen, appreciated, valued, and included, it significantly impacts their work performance and contributions.

I am fortunate to have a platform that allows me to work with diverse leaders. Some leaders may not fully grasp the importance of diversity and its impact. I make it a point to be vocal about my background and experiences with my leaders and team members. As the chairperson for our Latino Inclusion Group, I communicate the work I do both within and outside the organization. By openly discussing these topics, I create a safe space for my team members to share their goals and aspirations, fostering an environment of trust and support.

Regular check-ins with team members are vital. For instance, I had a leader who was hesitant to join an ERG. I walked him through the reasons and the value he could bring by participating, reassuring him that it’s possible to balance his primary job responsibilities with his passion for inclusivity. It’s about creating awareness and finding that balance, showing that you can integrate what matters to you into the organization. Open communication, creating safe spaces, and consistent check-ins are key strategies I use to promote awareness and support my team’s career and personal growth.

By emphasizing the importance of cultural understanding and inclusivity, leaders can foster a more dynamic and supportive work environment. Recognizing and celebrating diversity not only benefits individuals but also enhances the overall success and cohesion of the organization. It’s about valuing each person’s unique contributions and ensuring that everyone feels a sense of belonging and purpose.

How do you support the professional development of your team members across different geographical locations?

Very early in my career, as part of the 1% to 3% representation, I experienced imposter syndrome. I often thought to myself, “Why me?” Research shows that people who suffer from imposter syndrome, particularly women, may shy away from applying for jobs even if they have 90% of the required skills, whereas men might apply with just 80% of the skills. To overcome this, I had to find real confidence in myself, my skills, my abilities, and my accomplishments. It’s crucial not to compare yourself to others because everyone’s background and journey are different.

A pivotal moment was when one of my leaders was asked to speak on a panel and doubted her value. I insisted she participate, reminding her of her worth and the value she brings. Often, when you’re engrossed in your work, you may not realize your accomplishments. For anyone suffering from imposter syndrome, take a step back and reflect on what you’ve achieved without comparing yourself to others. Everyone is unique, and everyone’s journey is different.

One practice I share with my leaders and mentees is to create an electronic folder to archive accomplishments. Anytime you complete a significant task or initiative, drop it in that folder. This becomes incredibly useful for performance evaluations or self-assessments, as you can quickly reference your achievements throughout the year. It helps in articulating your accomplishments and planning future goals, ensuring that you are tracking your progress and setting new objectives based on past achievements.

Another method I use is more manual and personal. At the end of each year, I write down three goals — two professional and one personal — seal them in an envelope, and store it with my Christmas decorations. Each year, when we bring out the decorations, my significant other and I open our envelopes to review our goals. This practice allows me to reflect on whether I achieved my goals and why. If a goal wasn’t accomplished, I reassess its importance and decide if it should remain a goal. For example, buying a home was a recurring goal for me until I achieved it, and then I set a new personal goal. This tangible approach provides a sense of anticipation and reflection, much like opening a gift.

What trends do you foresee shaping the future of global operations, and how are you preparing your team for these changes?

Specific to the e-commerce space, consumers are looking for personalization, and we see this trend everywhere. It’s not only exclusive to retailers and brands, but also extends to industries like insurance. Personalization is very important because people want to feel understood and recognized. In the e-commerce space, this means brands must incorporate both regional and non-regional go-to-market strategies to cater to a global audience.

As a global company, we are very mindful of this need and prioritize hiring multilingual individuals. Different countries have different languages, and people prefer to speak with someone who speaks their language. Additionally, we consider culture, customs, and various practices in our approach. Many brands are tailoring their commercials to specific demographics, including gender and race, to better connect with their target audience.

We ensure that our strategies are inclusive and sensitive to these nuances, recognizing the importance of diversity in our teams. This approach allows us to effectively set a footprint both regionally and globally. It’s about understanding and meeting the unique needs of consumers from different backgrounds, making them feel valued and understood.

Which resource helped you in your journey?

So technically it’s three. Number one is finding a mentor — not just one, but several, because people can offer different perspectives. That’s the beauty of diverse backgrounds. I strongly recommend having a mentor within your organization and one outside of it. A mentor inside your organization can see how you show up and interact, providing you with feedback and guidance from someone who works closely with you. An external mentor offers a different perspective on your career and journey.

Number two is creating a board of directors within your organization. This is really critical because different people with diverse perspectives can share, guide, and provide feedback on things you might not have visibility into.

Number three is joining an ERG (Employee Resource Group). Whether your company offers it or you find one outside, it’s important to network and collaborate with people who share the same mission and journey as you. For example, I’m a member of PTW and chair the Latino inclusion group outside my current organization. This allows me to meet different people and collaborate on shared goals.

I hope you enjoyed the podcast. We will have more interviews with amazing Latinx and Caribbean leaders the first Tuesday of every month. Check out our website Latinx In Power to hear more. Don’t forget to share comments and feedback, always with kindness. See you soon.

✨Exciting news! Latinx In Power is now part of the HubSpot Podcast Network, the go-to audio hub for business professionals. Headsup: We receive a commission when you purchase. To learn more, click here: https://lnkd.in/grRP-WNP

Additional Reading Mentioned in the Interview

https://www.linkedin.com/in/yesenia-monroy/

📩 Hey you, join the Latinx In Power email list!

We send emails no more than twice a month. Click here to subscribe!

Find out more at the Website, Instagram and Twitter. If you’re looking for goodies, check out our online store.

--

--

Thaisa Fernandes
Latinx In Power

Program Management & Product Management | Podcast Host | Co-Author | PSPO, PMP, PSM Certified 🌈🌱