Oops, I Texted Again: Surviving the Autocorrect Apocalypse

Maddmaster
Laugh and Cry
Published in
4 min readFeb 28, 2024

--

Crafted with creativity by Midjourney 🎨✨ Dive into the story behind the image on Medium

Ah, the Autocorrect Apocalypse. Where do I even start? 🤔 Well, lemme take you back to this one time, me and my buddy Jeff were texting about our weekend plans. I wanted to say, “Let’s hit the beach,” but oh boy, did my phone have other ideas. It sent, “Let’s hit the bleach.” Jeff’s like, “Bro, are we cleaning or partying?” 😂

The Dawn of the Typos

We’ve all been there, right? Autocorrect’s supposed to be our typing guardian angel, but sometimes, it feels more like that mischievous gremlin hiding in the phone, just waiting to spice up our chats with a dash of chaos.

There was this other time I texted my wife, saying, “I got the kids some ice cream.” Except autocorrect had a field day and changed it to, “I got the kids some ice scream.” My wife texts back, panicked, “Why are the kids screaming? What happened?” Took me a moment to realize my phone’s betrayal. And let me tell ya, explaining that typo was more complicated than explaining why I bought the ice cream before dinner in the first place.

The Great Autocorrect Fails of History

You’d think after all these years, autocorrect would’ve got its act together, but nope. It’s like it’s got a mind of its own. Sometimes I think it throws in these wild…

--

--

Maddmaster
Laugh and Cry

No one will do it for you. You have to do it yourself! Life’s too short to be stuck in the shadows, folks.